Bankwest Breeze MasterCard

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers.
Minimum credit limit of $1,000
12.99% p.a. interest rate on purchases.
Add to comparison
24 months
0% p.a.
then 12.99%
with a 2% fee
12.99% p.a.
ongoing
$79
ongoing
 
saved over 24 months
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers.
12.99% p.a. interest rate on purchases.
Minimum credit limit of $1,000
Get up to 3 additional cardholders at no added cost.
Free worldwide emergency card replacement.
2% balance transfer fee.
No rewards program.

User reviews

3.9 out of 5.0 based on 13 reviews85% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

No-frills, low bills, not for dills

Reviewed and recommended by Simone on 24 Sep 2016

This product consistently delivers a considerably lower interest rate on purchases, year after year. I have had the product for approximately 7 years.

The annual fee is fair, but nearing what I would deem unacceptable for a basic credit card facility with no rewards scheme.

I’ve titled that this card is “not for dills”,as to operate it without grief you must be organised to get your monthly payment (minimum or higher) to Bankwest on time, with payment being via BPAY only for those outside Western Australia with no access to branch payment. Bank@Post isn’t available. Similarly, when you need to do something out of the everyday, like changing a PIN (done only in select full service ATM’s), it can be difficult if you reside outside the Bankwest branch network.

Internet Banking facilities are good, and you are able to message their customer service team via secure messages with a good turnaround time to receive a real-person response.

Unlike other institutions I’ve experienced, Bankwest charge a late payment fee immediately — not a single day’s grace — and the fee is high at $25.

Balance transfer promo was a great start!

Reviewed and recommended by Candice on 09 Jun 2016

I wanted a low rate balance transfer card for a small debt. It was quick to apply, the staff were fantastic, and the fees excellent. From my dealings with BankWest so far, I am now thinking of transferring all of my accounts across to them. I can access my account through all Commonwealth banks and online banking is easy. I would recommend this balance transfer card to anyone.

I would use this card most days

Reviewed and not recommended by Abbey on 20 Sep 2016

I am not sure if I would really recommend it, but you get it. It would be nice to have lower interest rates. If it had lower rates then I would probably recommend it. As it is, I might only give it a few more stars than it is worth.

Bankwest is just one of those banks that is average at everything it does.

We really like this card

Reviewed and recommended by Happy on 30 Aug 2013

We really like this card because of the interest rate which is very low and have been very happy with the fees. When we have contacted the bank, customer service have always been friendly and helpful. Like the convenience of the card as its accepted everywhere in store and online. We would recommend it.

Very happy with it

Reviewed and recommended by Lauren on 09 Oct 2014

I am very happy with this credit card. Not sure if I get rewards for using it – if I do that will make it even better. Was easy to apply for and customer service has always been really great – friendly & helpful. Would definitely recommend this credit card to anyone else.

Great service and very low interest

Reviewed and recommended by Jacqueline on 30 Apr 2017

The card is bright and easy to find in my wallet. The interest rates are low. The service is always great. I have never had any problems with this card or with this bank.

My card was hacked. They knew before did, and rang me straight away. Bankwest all the way!

Easy to set up, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Tina on 29 Nov 2016

I think this bank is one of the best out here in Australia, It was easy setting up and getting started — the process was simple. I’m still with this bank now. The customer service is great. I would most definitely recommend everyone to choose them — they’re great!

A good tool if used correctly

Reviewed and recommended by Charmars on 20 Oct 2013

Since I never experience late fees for I use my card only where I cannot use cash or E.F.P.O.S. and clear card as soon as I use it, or before the end of the month. In this way I don’t incur any charges at all, so I am well pleased with my MasterCard.

Never lets me down

Reviewed and recommended by Josh on 13 Aug 2016

Bankwest is the best bank, offering the best cards and customer service. The Breeze MasterCard is easy to apply for at any Bankwest branch. The card is also accepted at every store I have ever bought from. I lost my card outside the vet clinic one day and it took less than three days to receive my new one in the mail. Amazing.

Missed a local branch

Reviewed and recommended by Peter on 29 Oct 2014

I found the inconvenience of not being able to go to a branch and discuss any issues I might be having as the most irritating aspect of having this card. Recently I was under a little financial stress and asked for assistance, which was given by reducing my interest rate to just under 10 percent. When I asked for the same offer as a balance transfer i.e. zero percent I was denied even tough I had been a customer for many years and never defaulted. Poor form.

Show 3 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$20,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
3
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$1,000
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%95% of credit limit12.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
95% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Bankwest Breeze MasterCard at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%95% of credit limit 12.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.08% 12.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$79 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7.5
Foreign exchange fee
2.95%
Late payment fee
$25
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $20,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension is acceptable.
Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are not acceptable.
Income from pensions is not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: