Bankwest Breeze Platinum MasterCard

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers.
Minimum credit limit of $6,000.
No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases.
Add to comparison
24 months
0% p.a.
then 12.99%
with a 2% fee
12.99% p.a.
ongoing
$99
ongoing
 
saved over 24 months Plus these benefits
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers.
No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases.
12.99% p.a. interest rate on purchases.
International travel insurance.
Free worldwide emergency card replacement if you ever need it.
Add up to 3 additional cardholders for free.
2% balance transfer fee.
A cash advance rate of 21.99% p.a.

User reviews

4.1 out of 5.0 based on 8 reviews88% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Best card for overseas purchases

Reviewed and recommended by Rachel on 22 Jun 2016

There are no international transaction fees, which is excellent for someone who travels overseas regularly for business. The complimentary travel insurance on purchases is helpful when bringing home new purchases from overseas. I save interest by paying off purchases within the interest-free period. There is no annual fee or rewards program, but you have easy online banking experience and access to Commonwealth Bank ATMs.

Earlier payment due dates, fewer rewards

Reviewed and not recommended by Sarah on 30 Sep 2016

What started out to be a great credit card is slowly starting to turn into a nightmare. Our due dates for payments are becoming earlier and earlier, to the point where it now skips a pay cycle for me, which is making it harder to pay off.

Not only this, but rewards that used to be great are getting more and more expensive, requiring larger amounts of points to be accrued for smaller benefits.

I would definitely steer clear of this credit card and we are definitely considering a new one soon.

Great for emergencies

Reviewed and recommended by John on 16 Jul 2016

I got this card to pay out another credit card on no interest. I do like the bank but am considering going to a lesser card.

Reward points do not interest me. I just need it for emergencies. The only other thing that annoys me with credit cards is the interest rates.

A good, easy to manage, everyday card

Reviewed and recommended by Lawrence on 22 Oct 2013

This card is easy to use and has a reward scheme that offers cash back. I much prefer this and It is great to see money returned to my account. It is very easy to manage with a comprehensive and very user friendly website where you can quickly see all your accounts and transfer efficiently between accounts when necessary.

Easy access

Reviewed and recommended by Ian on 04 Jul 2016

I love the ease of access, the website, the backup service, the customer helpline, online help, the ease of contacting them either in Australia or when traveling overseas, and especially the travel insurance as a benefit. I use the travel insurance on a regular basis and never have problems with claims.

Market low interest rate

Reviewed and recommended by Michael on 21 Sep 2016

Switched to this card to reduce my repayments. It saved me a lot of money with 8.99% interest rate instead of the standard 22%.

Unfortunately no rewards are offered, so not ideal for customers who pay off their credit cards on time every month. Would recommend for people struggling with paying off debt.

Quick service for balance transfer

Reviewed and recommended by Sandra on 15 Oct 2016

I obtained this card though a balance transfer from another card. I received excellent service and they were very quick to transfer funds to pay off my existing card — within three days. There’s always minimal delay in customer service and minimal wait time on the phone, which is really frustrating with other banks, etc.

The yearly fee is one of the lowest on the market, from what I’ve researched.

Better internet banking and customer service

Reviewed and recommended by Mark on 05 Nov 2013

Was with Virgin but now I have all my cards together with Bankwest and the service is so much better to be able to access everything on the one Internet site. The customer service is also very helpful and they speak good English which is very helpful in this day and age.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
3
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%95% of credit limit12.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
95% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Bankwest Breeze Platinum MasterCard at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%95% of credit limit 12.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.08% 12.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7.5
Foreign exchange fee
0%
Late payment fee
$25
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,341

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Total estimated value$1,341
Annual fee$99
Net customer value$1,242
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension is acceptable.
Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are not acceptable.
Income from pensions is not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: