Bankwest Zero Platinum MasterCard

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
offer
card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
your savings
No annual fee.
2.99% p.a. for 9 months on balances transferred.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Add to comparison
9 months
2.99% p.a.
then 17.99%
17.99% p.a.
ongoing
$0
ongoing
 
saved over 9 months plus these benefits

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

No annual fee.
2.99% p.a. for 9 months on balances transferred.
Up to 55 days on purchases
No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases.
Free international travel insurance, extended warranty, purchase security and price guarantee cover.
Free worldwide emergency card replacement.
Pay faster using MasterCard PayPass.
There is a cash advance rate of 21.99% p.a.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 12 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

No annual fee, free inclusions, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Ocea on 28 Apr 2017

I’m 100% happy: no annual fees, an average interest rate (but I pay in full monthly so there’s no cost), and awesome free inclusions like travel insurance. If I book flights or accommodation using the card, it’s all covered by insurance.

I missed a connecting flight home from China and had fraudulent activity which was no fault of my own. The bank was amazing at a very difficult time.

A card for all my foreign currency transactions

Reviewed and recommended by Gigi on 05 Dec 2016

This is my go-to card for all of my foreign currency transactions. With no annual fee, it doesn’t cost me anything to keep it in my wallet and it saves me heaps of foreign currency transaction fees when I shop online or travel overseas.

The only drawback is that I don’t get any reward points for spending on this card. That’s a small price to pay for the amount of money it saves me.

Good for regular travellers, but no reward points

Reviewed and recommended by Indra on 05 Dec 2016

This card is suitable for people who like to travel regularly. It comes with free travel insurance and no foreign exchange fee.

Statements are delivered electronically unless you opt-in for paper-based statements, for a fee.

There’s no annual fee on the card, but there are no reward points either. I have had this card for many years simply because there is no annual fee, but I hardly use this card due to the fact that it is not earning points. So I just keep it as a rainy-day card.

Perfect card for travellers

Reviewed and recommended by Jessica on 05 Dec 2016

We decided to go with this credit card for the purpose of international travel. There are no fees, and best of all no currency conversion fees. This means it’s not only good for travelling, but international online purchases too.

The setup was easy, and we haven’t had to deal with Bankwest much, which is a good thing! I have no complaints about service.

Amazing card, no foreign transaction fees

Reviewed and recommended by Kate on 28 Oct 2016

Great for travel — no fees on foreign transactions — and as it’s a MasterCard the exchange rate is almost exactly the same as the daily rate. Free travel insurance included with the platinum card is a great bonus.

Applying was quick and simple and I received my card within one week.

No foreign transaction fees and no annual fee

Reviewed and recommended by Christina on 25 Oct 2016

This card has great rewards, especially when traveling overseas, as you get a lot of benefits when shopping. You do not get charged the foreign currency conversion rate when purchasing goods at a store, and also there is no annual fee on this card. I would highly recommend this card to all.

Cheap card with no foreign transaction fees

Reviewed and recommended by B on 20 Sep 2016

If you want a low-interest card that doesn’t charge foreign transaction fees for your online shopping or international travel, then this is a great card. With the usual inclusions for a platinum card (I was glad to have received free travel insurance when I booked recent international flights on the card) and the usual helpful customer service of Bankwest, it is a great card if you don’t want all the bells and whistles of a rewards program.

No overseas transaction fees

Reviewed and recommended by Susan on 20 Sep 2016

We applied for this card especially to use for an overseas trip, because there are no foreign transaction fees. Even better, there is no annual fee. We are keeping it for the next overseas trip, and for when we make online purchases.

There are no rewards, but that isn’t really a problem.

Great for travel

Reviewed and recommended by Christina on 10 Aug 2016

It is a great card for travel and convenience and I would recommend it to anyone who travels overseas on work or for leisure. Also you do not get charged an annual fee, and travel insurance is included when you purchase your ticket for travelling via the credit card.

Worth it

Reviewed and recommended by E on 02 Jul 2016

This card saved me lots of money. There are no annual or application fees ever, low interest and only 2% cash withdrawal fees—that’s low when compared to other cards which are generally 3%. On top of that, there’s no international transaction fees, making this an excellent choice for overseas traveller. You will also get free insurance on overseas purchases. Highly recommended.

Show 2 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$65,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
3
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers2.99% p.a.9 months0%95% of credit limit17.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
95% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Bankwest Zero Platinum MasterCard at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers2.99% p.a.9 months0%95% of credit limit 17.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.50% 17.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
0%
Late payment fee
$25
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,341

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Total estimated value$1,341
Annual fee$0
Net customer value$1,341
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $65,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension is acceptable.
Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are not acceptable.
Income from pensions is not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards: