Coles Rewards Mastercard

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Coles Rewards Mastercard
Apply by 30 jun 18
75 reviews
Collect 2 points per $1 on eligible spend – that’s on top of the usual flybuys points from other partners.
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 16 months. Reverts to cash advance rate.
Save $10 instantly at the checkout when you redeem 2,000 flybuys points.
Add to comparison
flybuys
flybuys
-
-

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Collect 2 points per $1 on eligible spend – that’s on top of the usual flybuys points from other partners.
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 16 months. Reverts to cash advance rate.
Save $10 instantly at the checkout when you redeem 2,000 flybuys points.
Up to 55 days interest free on purchases.
A rewards card with only a comparatively small annual fee to pay.
Checkout faster using MasterCard contactless.
No international transaction fees on purchases when you shop online or overseas.
Protected by the Coles Shield.
New customers only.
After the 0% p.a. balance transfer period is completed, any unpaid balances will be subject to the cash advance rate.
$5 fee applies when you obtain funds outside of Australia or in a foreign currency.

Our review

Our review of the Coles Rewards MastercardReviewed by Yvonne Taylor

There’s one card that all dedicated flybuys points collectors need: the Coles Rewards Mastercard. It transforms an otherwise rather slow and pedestrian loyalty program into a true money-spinner, with its high points earning rate, generous interest-free days and a number of other useful benefits.

A frequent $10 off your bill at Coles, Kmart or Liquorland

How does a permanent 1.5% discount on your supermarket and variety store shopping sound? Too good to be true? Not when you use the Coles Rewards Mastercard. This card offers 2.0 flybuys points per dollar on eligible spend. So when you add those 2.0 points to the 1.0 points per dollar you already get with most flybuys program partners, the result is a very healthy 3.0 points per dollar. That translates into $10 off your Coles, Kmart or Target shopping for every $667 you spend at those stores (thus earning 2,000 points), which equates to a permanent 1.5% discount.

Lots of places to earn flybuys

You probably already know about the well-promoted flybuys potential at Coles, Kmart and Target. But did you know that you can also earn flybuys at Liquorland, First Choice Liquor, First Choice Liquor, LiquorMarket, Coles Express and Kmart Tyre & Auto? If that’s not enough, you’ll also get points from doing business with Medibank, Budget car rental, AGL, Adidas, Kleenheat and several fitness companies. Most people do business regularly with several of these organisations, which means that flybuys accumulate without any need to change spending patterns.

Lots of ways to spend flybuys

Although the $10 discount at the checkout is probably the most popular and cost-effective way to spend your flybuys, if that doesn’t appeal there are plenty of other choices:

  • Instead of using the discount yourself, you can give it as a gift. Points can be converted into $50 or $100 shopping gift cards.
  • Merchandise is available at the flybuys online store. Choose from home and garden, fashion, technology, toys and baby products, watches and jewellery, and many more categories.
  • Points can also be exchanged for beer and wine, magazine subscriptions, movie tickets, entertainment and dining experiences and hotel accommodation.
  • Flybuys can be converted into Virgin Velocity Frequent Flyer Points at the rate 2,000 flybuys equals 870 Velocity Frequent Flyer Points.
  • Link your flybuys and Velocity memberships and earn one Velocity status credit each month for every $100 spent across Coles supermarkets, Coles Online, Liquorland and First Choice Liquor. Status Credits can improve your Velocity Frequent Flyer status to silver, gold and platinum levels, with accompanying travel benefits.)

Annual fee quickly recouped

Although you will pay an annual fee of $99 p.a. with this card, this amount will be recovered in cash rewards as soon as you have spent $9,900 (earning 19,800 points). Cover the fee even sooner by spending $6,600 (or less, depending on each partner’s points rate) with flybuys program partners. Every point you earn after that is free.

Great card for online shoppers and international travellers

Another rare feature that you’ll appreciate is the lack of an international transaction surcharge. Other cards can charge up to 3.5% on top of the face value for processing overseas purchase transactions. This Coles card levies no additional fee, whether you are shopping online with an overseas supplier, or in person while travelling internationally.

Say goodbye to Coles online delivery charges

Online grocery shopping is becoming a popular choice for busy people in metropolitan areas. Pity about the delivery charges though. But once armed with this card you never need to pay for a Coles delivery again, no matter which delivery window you choose. Just spend at least $100 (excluding tobacco products) in a single order, pay with your Coles Rewards Mastercard, and delivery (usually costing between $4 and $18) is absolutely free. If you have a weekly delivery, you could save more than $900 per year.

Speed and convenience

This card comes with more useful features for the time-poor:

  • Checkout faster using Mastercard PayPass Tap & Go for transactions under $100.
  • The Mastercard also functions as a flybuys card, so you only need to carry and use one card instead of two.

There always has to be a downside, and it’s in the interest rates: 19.99% p.a. for both purchases and cash advances. But there’s no need to pay these rates. If your finances are in order and you diarise payment due dates to avoid missing them, there’s no reason for these rates to bother you because they will never be applied to your account.

Making a note of the payment due date will also mean that you’ll dodge the steep $10 late payment fee is now $10 every 7 days.

The must-have card for serious flybuys collectors

It can pay to be earnest about accumulating flybuys. ASIC’s MoneySmart website says that Australian families spend on average over $16,000 per year on food, drinks and alcohol. At 3.0 points per dollar (2.0 from this card + 1.0 from the flybuys partner) that could add up to a saving of $240 at the checkout during the course of a year – almost a week’s free groceries, so not to be sneezed at.

Most cardholders will be able to accumulate additional points from other participating businesses. This is without doubt the go-to card for flybuys enthusiasts.

User reviews

4.0 out of 5.0 based on 75 reviews91% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Great rewards and good rates

Reviewed and recommended by Donna on 09 Jun 2016

I got this card as I’m going on holidays and wanted some extra money if needed. I also got $100 free cash at Coles just for applying—how great is that!

I also get flybuys points on all my purchases. Great benefits and rewards. I’m a team member, so get the card with no annual fee… savings.

I enjoy the extra flybuys points

Reviewed and recommended by Jody on 14 Jul 2015

I obtained this card when I bought Wesfarmers insurance. I am also a Coles team member and by using this card to do my groceries I receive 4 flybuys points for every dollar I spend.

The interest rate is comparable with other cards, and the customer service is fantastic and always very helpful.

Fast rewards, convenience, security

Reviewed and recommended by Linda on 21 Sep 2016

Having my flybuys number on the back of my card is very convenient. Because we pay out our balance each month there are no interest charges.

We get points on all transactions, even when paying bills. Points build up faster and we are able to redeem our points for great products and services.

Transaction are easily viewed on an easy-to-use app. The card is accepted everywhere. There’s great service from the provider. Fraudulent transactions are investigated promptly. It gives me peace of mind when Fraud Services call to verify a possible dodgy transaction.

Great card

Reviewed and recommended by Barbara on 17 Jun 2015

I find this card very good. Customer service is reasonable, but I have had lots of problems using their website. Hopefully I can sort that out soon.

The interest rate is reasonable as far as they all seem to be. The black card I have is better looking than the other card they offer.

Great rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Patricia on 01 Jul 2016

I put all my monthly spend on this card which acts as my cash book which I can check online at any time and gives me all those flybuys points I can then spend on something special just for me. It costs me no interest as I clear the balance each month.

Great rewards card

Reviewed and recommended by Brett on 01 Jul 2016

I find the Coles Rewards MasterCard to be very beneficial. I use it all the time as the rewards earned through your flybuys account far outweigh the low annual fee.

This is the best credit card I have ever used and would highly recommend it for people looking to get that bit extra.

Early days but OK so far

Reviewed and recommended by Susan on 21 Sep 2016

I’ve recently signed up for this card. The process was easy online, though not as easy to get a second card for my partner to use.

Reminders re payment are good. So far I’m happy with it, and as I usually shop at Coles it’s good to earn points there and elsewhere too.

The opening offer of $100 off my shop was great and I certainly took advantage of it.

Accepted, trusted and convenient

Reviewed and recommended by Eileen on 23 Sep 2016

Knowing that I am contacted whenever a large transaction is made, to ensure it was me or my husband, reassures me when making a purchase, paying a bill or using the card anywhere around the world. This is the one card we have always had accepted wherever we go, and added to that is the bonus of earning flybuys points whenever we use our card.

We pay in full every month so never have to pay any interest. It is just so convenient, so safe and so rewarding.

Rewards are great

Reviewed and recommended by Patricia on 20 Sep 2016

Rewards are great, the interest-free period is good, but the annual fee was increased the year to cover foreign exchange fees, which is a service I use once in a blue moon and would willingly pay for to avoid the increase in the annual fee. It should have been a choice, not an arbitrary decision by someone in head office.

I use this card because it is linked to my flybuys account and therefore I can double dip if I use it to pay for Coles groceries and Coles Express fuel, which is the most convenient one for me. Then I can convert my flybuys points to cash to buy groceries or recharge my phone.

Manage it and the rewards will be well worth it

Reviewed and recommended by Dave on 19 Jun 2016

This is my second review after six months with my Coles Rewards Credit Card.

When I applied, I was quite happy, but skeptical as big companies are probably cheating someone, somewhere. I am still—and more so—very happy and confident. I am getting exactly what I expected in terms of security, quality in terms of ease and ability of usage, and the warm feeling when you receive something for free, from a multi-national company.

I use it everywhere: car payments, small expenses, and my larger multiple monthly expenses. It has swipe and payWave, so I am fully in control of how I use the card at checkout. I have linked it with my flybuys account and I don’t spend a dollar to chase an extra point, but I shop and spend wisely, with triple points on most transactions, a cash back guarantee that comes with MasterCard, and insurance against any fraudulent activity on my card.

If there was a negative or two to mention, it has no total spend running balance and it is has an annual fee, but as they do not get any interest from me because I pay it off in full each month, I keep the interest in my saving account and I have all the benefits possible. It is still great value.

Still very happy for the first time with a credit card in 40 years since my first bank card way back when.

Show 65 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Good
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$25,000
Minimum income for pensioners
N/A
Pensioners
N/A
Rewards program
flybuys
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
4
Additional card fee
$10 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$2,000
Maximum credit limit
$60,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.16 months0%80% of credit limit19.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
80% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Coles Rewards Mastercard at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Coles

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.16 months0%80% of credit limit 19.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.67% 19.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.67% 19.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
$15
Duplicate statement fee
$0
Foreign exchange fee
2.5%
Late payment fee
$10
Over limit fee
$10
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$5
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Points required accurate as of the 31st March 2018.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
flybuys
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
No
Points cap per year
Unlimited
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
2 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $25,000 per year
Have a good credit history
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards: