Commonwealth Bank Awards Credit Card

What do you want this card for?
Save money
Earn points
My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Earn up to 1.5 Awards Points per $1 spent on the Amex card.
$59 p.a. annual fee.
Minimum credit limit of $500.
Add to comparison
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Commonwealth Bank Awards
-
-
 
in 12 mths (approx.)
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Earn up to 1.5 Awards Points per $1 spent on the Amex card.
$59 p.a. annual fee.
Minimum credit limit of $500.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Redeem points for Velocity Rewards or the Qantas Frequent Flyer Program. Conditions Apply.
Redeem points at Myer, Flight Centre or 1,000 items with CommBank Awards.
Interest rates on purchases and cash advances are at the high end of the range.
Awards points are capped at 50,000 points per year which will hold back serious points hackers.
  • From 1 September 2018, new CommBank American Express Cards will no longer be offered.
  • From 1 November 2018, we’re closing all CommBank American Express Cards and transactions will be declined (some exceptions apply*).

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 127 reviews83% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Rewards easy to convert to gift or retail cards

Reviewed and recommended by Kylie on 27 Nov 2016

A great card. Rewards are easy to convert to gift cards or to use in store at Myer. It’s easy and convenient. Fees are reasonable.

I have used this card for many years. It includes travel insurance etc. I’ve never had any issues.

I always pay the balance off each month, therefore do no incur any interest charges.

Generally very pleased with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Lolpigs on 12 Jun 2015

Good card, great customer service and usability. The app allows access to funds and you can move them quickly and easily. I’ve never had any issues with card being accepted at any retailer. Low interest rates and fees attracted me to this card and are the reason I have kept this card for many years.

No problems with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Charlie on 29 Aug 2016

I have had this card for the last few months now, as I have been living in Brisbane (from England) and I can honestly say that it has done everything it was supposed to do. I can’t complain about anything as I have had no problems so far. I would definitely use this card again.

Good rates and low fees

Reviewed and recommended by Lewis on 07 Dec 2016

This is a very good card, with good rates. I recommend it. It has the lowest credit card interest rate around and fees are also very low.

Online banking is super easy and the staff, if you ever need to call, are exemplary in customer service. Customer service always to a high standard.

It’s an excellent system, easy to understand.

Good experience with card

Reviewed and recommended by hjcunningham on 08 Aug 2013

I have this card since I took out our home loan. Never had any problems with it. Card details were stolen once to make online purchases. We were contacted quickly by the bank and all monies refunded. I have never had much use for the awards program as I don’t use the card enough and the awards items are not for me.

Secure and easy

Reviewed and recommended by LengKim on 13 Aug 2013

Very convenient with PayPass at most shopping places. Balance can check at ATM. Low fee and wide acceptance of transactions; payment could use net bank to pay and transfer any money have an added security of chip technology included. Has 55 days with no interest charged. Balance and all transactions can be checked online.

A backup to help me get through

Reviewed and recommended by Karen on 26 Sep 2016

To live just making ends meet can be difficult, so it is always lovely to know I have a backup like this card to get me through the fortnight — just when I need some food and cigarettes or a special treat for myself.

I love that i can bank inside the bank rather than just using the ATM.

Rewards were great

Reviewed and recommended by Katherine on 26 Jun 2016

This card has low fees and great customer service—a great option for credit card beginners. If you ever have any questions or want to change your credit limit, they are more than happy to help. Rewards used to be great, however they stopped them, which is disappointing. Other than that I would recommend this card to everyone.

Trustworthy

Reviewed and recommended by CBA credit card on 19 Aug 2013

In the last 10 years of using my card I’ve found at all times the bank trustworthy and fantastic to deal with. They have always had accurate statements and have never penalised us for fully paying our card each month. Anyone wanting a credit card from a bank who cares could not go past the CBA.

Never a drama

Reviewed and recommended by Elise on 20 Sep 2016

Commonwealth Bank have made it very easy to access and make payments on this credit card. I have even been reimbursed a percentage when i make extra payments.

Fees are pretty stock standard so i wouldn’t rave about that, but they’re not ridiculous either.

I would highly recommend a credit card with CBA

Show 117 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard & Amex
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$10 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Awards Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$59 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater)
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points (AmEx)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (MasterCard)
N/A
Overseas earn rate (AmEx)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (MasterCard)
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per month (MasterCard)
N/A
Points cap per year (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per year (MasterCard)
50,000
Points earned on ATO payments (AmEx)
Points earned on ATO payments (MasterCard)
N/A
Reward points (AmEx)
1.5 pts per $1 spent
Reward points (MasterCard)
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards: