Win 1 Million Velocity Frequent Flyer Points

100% unbiased and honest reviews made for you by a qualified and independent accountant

we compare every major bank and a lot of the smaller ones too

Commonwealth Bank Gold Awards Credit Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
offer
card features
rewards program
earn rate
sign up bonus
your earnings
Commonwealth Bank Gold Awards Credit Card
APPLY BY 30 apr 17
36 reviews
You could win a $5,000 flight centre gift card when you apply by 30th April 2017 and activate your card by 19th May 2017. (Conditions Apply)
Overseas travel insurance to give you cover for up to 3 months travel.
Strong points earning rate of up to 2 Awards points for every dollar spent.
Add to comparison

Commonwealth Bank Awards
2 pts
per $1 spent
-
 
in 12 mths (approx.) what can I do with these?

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

You could win a $5,000 flight centre gift card when you apply by 30th April 2017 and activate your card by 19th May 2017. (Conditions Apply)
Overseas travel insurance to give you cover for up to 3 months travel.
Strong points earning rate of up to 2 Awards points for every dollar spent.
$119 p.a. annual fee.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
PayPass for faster payments under $100.
Redeem points at Myer, Flight Centre or 1,000 items with CommBank Awards.
No signup bonus points.
Points are capped at 125,000 points per year.

User reviews

3.8 out of 5.0 based on 36 reviews86% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

Earns points quickly, with an affordable annul fee

Reviewed and recommended by Brittany on 27 Nov 2016

I absolutely love this Gold Awards card. It has an an affordable annual fee.

My Qantas frequent flyer points are piling up quickly, so I can travel more often to see my family interstate, and it’s very easy to pay off your card by simply using your NetBank account. I’m very happy with this credit card.

Great range of rewards, satisfactory service

Reviewed and recommended by Rebecca on 01 Nov 2016

I’m a lifelong CommBank customer. I’ve always been satisfied with the level of customer service I’ve received on everything from enquiries to complaints and feedback.

A consultant went through all the options available and helped me select a card that offered a moderate fee and rewards. I haven’t claimed the rewards points as yet but I’ve recently reviewed the catalogue and there is a great range of gift cards and products available. If you are diligent and use the additional AmEx card (which accrues points at a faster rate) provided as part of the package, this card would be of even greater value. I’m very satisfied with this product.

Worldwide acceptance

Reviewed and recommended by Amy on 28 Oct 2016

I was randomly upgraded to receive the gold card. The card is pretty good, although I haven’t experienced any real rewards or offers from them since signing up. However, it’s MasterCard, which allows me to use it worldwide.

I feel pretty neutral toward the card — no negatives or real positives.

Helpful when I was overseas

Reviewed and recommended by Sophie on 25 Oct 2016

Commonwealth Bank has been very helpful, most noticeably during my time overseas. Whenever an issue arose they were able to organise the appropriate outcome based on my presented needs.

Their credit ratings are great and beneficial for my current income. They are also clear with all questions and provide detailed answers.

Saved me from hunger when no one would lend to me

Reviewed and recommended by Sasha on 17 Oct 2016

It’s expensive to have a credit card but it saved me a lot of inconvenience and hunger at a time when no one would loan me money. I was homeless with no one that would help. The only thing I could get was this card.

The interest comes monthly and is quite a lot but the award points seem like it’s worth that little bit extra.

Double fee but same rewards

Reviewed and not recommended by Kennedy on 26 Sep 2016

It has a wonderful awards program. The only let-down is paying more on the annual fee for the gold card, but the number of points given for every dollar spent is exactly the same as the base level awards card. You’d expect at least 2 points per $1, given that the annual fee is double that of the base level card.

Also, the interest rate is extremely high, perhaps one of the highest of all the credit cards on offer in Australia.

Customer service is good

Reviewed and recommended by Mathi on 22 Sep 2016

All issues and queries raised are dealt with promptly and efficiently. In this day and age, when when good customer service has almost become a thing of the past, it is heartening to see an organisation put customers first. It always gives someone a bit of hope when a company actually goes above the call of duty and provides good customer service.

Large variety in rewards program

Reviewed and recommended by Anna on 22 Sep 2016

The annual fee is around $129, if I recall correctly, and for one point per dollar spent it may take a while to earn a decent award, unless you’re a big spender.

The actual rewards program is fairly good, with a large variety of items up for redemption. I would recommend this card if you a spend a lot and don’t mind paying the high interest rate and high annual fee.

Not cost effective if balance isn't paid on time

Reviewed and not recommended by Julie on 21 Sep 2016

The rewards program is easy to use and fair. But the interest rate is way too high. The annual fee is also too high.

I would love a card with a lower and fairer interest rate that doesn’t charge huge late fees and only charges interest on the outstanding balance. But I’m finding to change to a different card would be inconvenient, as I would have to change all my auto payment details with many suppliers.

Good rewards, service and security

Reviewed and recommended by Terry on 21 Sep 2016

It’s a very good card, with rewards and excellent customer service. It’s a good rewards system and very easy to use. The card is accepted everywhere and comes with an American Express card.

The bank always looks out for possible fraudulent transactions and call to see if you are actually trying to use the card, especially if the transaction is overseas.

Show 26 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Gold
Card type
MasterCard & AmEx
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$50,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$10 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$4,000
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Gold Awards Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$119 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater)
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards

Rewards program basics

Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

ATO payment earns rewards (amex)
ATO payment earns rewards (mc)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (amex)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (mc)
N/A
Overseas earn rate (amex)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (mc)
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month (amex)
N/A
Points cap per month (mc)
N/A
Points cap per year (amex)
N/A
Points cap per year (mc)
125,000
Reward points (amex)
2 pts per $1 spent
Reward points (mc)
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $906

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Transaction fee waiver
Cardholders get a CommBank Travel Money Card without paying the usual $15 fee.
$15
Travel
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Total estimated value$906
Annual fee$119
Net customer value$787
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $50,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards:
Win 1 Million Velocity Frequent Flyer Points
ENTER FOR YOUR CHANCE TO WIN