Commonwealth Bank Platinum Awards Credit Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
A chance to win 1 of 60 $5,000 Flight Centre Gift Cards. Conditions apply.
Strong earn rate of 2.5 pts per $1 spent on the AmEx card.
$249 p.a. annual fee.
Add to comparison
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Commonwealth Bank Awards
1 pt
per $1 spent
-
 
in 12 mths (approx.)
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

A chance to win 1 of 60 $5,000 Flight Centre Gift Cards. When you apply for a new CommBank credit card by 31st Oct 2017 and activate by 15th Nov 2017. Conditions apply.
Rewards points never expire.
Strong earn rate of 2.5 pts per $1 spent on the AmEx card.
Redeem points for Velocity Rewards or the Qantas Frequent Flyer Program. Conditions Apply.
$249 p.a. annual fee.
Complimentary international travel insurance, purchase security insurance and extended warranty insurance.
Lots of branches & ATM’s across the country if you ever need them.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
CommBank concierge is available 24/7.
There is balance transfer offers available on other credit cards.
The interest rate and annual fee are as high as you would expect for a platinum credit card.

User reviews

4.0 out of 5.0 based on 39 reviews87% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Mostly pleased with card

Reviewed and recommended by Emmgee on 20 Aug 2013

No problems at all, always been happy with national and international use, have used it safely online shopping, never had a refusal would recommend my bank to any one have been using this bank for 30 years without worries. Will not change cards ever since I am a platinum holder and this is as good as it gets with great rewards.

Collected many points, used them on great gifts.

Reviewed and recommended by Vasilios on 07 Jul 2016

My card has the ability to earn me up to 2.5 points for every dollar spent. I have been using it for many years and racking up plenty of points during this time. It has a low annual fee of $59.00, which is very affordable and with the reward points you can choose from over 1,000 Awards items. In the past, I have redeemed my points for fuel vouchers and redeemed points instantly in-store at Myer. As with any credit card, it is important that you pay off your purchases within the interest-free period on purchases. Interest on purchases not paid off in time attracts a high rate so you do need to be aware of this.

Convenient, but only average rewards and high fees

Reviewed and recommended by Derryn on 11 Dec 2016

This is a fairly good card that comes with the convenience of the CommBank app. So you get benefits like being able to remotely lock your card if you lose it, as well as being able to put other reward program cards in your phone.

You can use the reward points for a lot of things through the Awards website, including booking directly with Flight Centre, which means you can choose any airline to fly with, not just Qantas or Virgin. You can also just use the value of the points you have towards a booking, instead of having to reach certain point milestones.

The reward points can also be used to pay for the annual fee, which could effectively make this a fee-free card.

It also comes with an optional tap-to-pay sticker which you can put on your phone so you don’t need to carry your wallet. The downside to this is that it is only for the MasterCard, which means you will only receive 1 point per $1, instead of 2.5 per $1 if you use the AmEx. For this reason I almost never use it unless AmEx isn’t accepted.

This is the other major downside to this card. It is quite expensive compared to the value of the reward points and your ability to accumulate them quickly. This card is really only worth it if you are using AmEx 90% of the time, but the AmEx surcharge at most retailers will usually be more than the value of the points you earn. So you really need to shop around for retailers that don’t charge more for AmEx.

An easy way around the surcharge (or to reduce it) is to link the AmEx to your PayPal account. Retailers will often charge nothing to pay by PayPal, or a maximum 1%. This way you can still earn maximum points, with minimum fees. This will also often avoid the high international transaction fee that CommBank charges for transactions that don’t take place in Australia.

There are bonus point partners, but the bonus points are minimal and the partners are mostly rare purchases.

Pros: – Convenient – Good technology – Can link AmEx to PayPal to avoid surcharges and international transaction fees when purchasing online – Flexible rewards usage

Cons: – Expensive annual fee for the benefits – Hard to earn rewards on AmEx alone in Australia – No Apple Pay or other eWallets – Tap-to-pay sticker is for MasterCard only

Good rewards but high interest rate

Reviewed and recommended by Bec on 20 Sep 2016

Rewards offered are quite good, with very fast delivery times.

CBA waived the card fees when I took up this product.

The overall appearance of the card is appealing to the eye. However, the Interest rate is exceptionally high.

CBA offer a wide variety of credit cards to suit people with all types of budgets, and there are easy repayment options.

Getting stung again

Reviewed and not recommended by Lyn on 12 Jul 2016

Commonwealth has stung all of their loyal customers twice in the last six months. Firstly they have reduced the points awarded on each card when they were already the lowest of any of the award cards. Then they introduced a $40 fee to be in the rewards program. Plus they sting you $10 for each additional cardholder, on top of their already steep fees and 21% interest if you can’t pay in full on the due date. If I wasn’t scared of being rejected by one of the others, I’d be gone in a heartbeat.

The best card I have ever had

Reviewed and recommended by Anni on 13 Sep 2013

This card can be used anywhere, the fees are low and the reward system outstanding. You get triple points every time you swipe your card which means the point builds up very quickly, and they have some awesome products to trade for points. I wish I knew about this card sooner.

Reliable and secure

Reviewed and recommended by Cassie on 08 Jun 2016

Low cost annual fee and free upgrades offered on a regular basis. Limit increases offered regularly. Can be used widely due to the complimentary companion card with American Express. I t has complimentary travel insurance through a reputable insurance company with easy activation. Free extended warranty on purchases. Concierge service and discounts on other bank travel products too.

Awards and interest-free days

Reviewed and recommended by J on 28 Sep 2016

I wouldn’t move to another bank. Purchases are interest free for 55 days and I always pay it off so never pay interest, ever.

I get award points for using it too, and it comes with an American Express card, which earns more points. I use points for cash or gift cards, or I can donate to charity.

I have been with Commonwealth my whole life though.

Not the best

Reviewed and not recommended by Mark on 02 Jul 2016

The interest rates are too high and the rewards don’t cover the amount you need to spend to get anything good. The bank makes good money from their customers using these cards. I am stuck in a package with CBA with the annual fee for the card combined into that. They make it hard to get out. I will be changing soon.

Loving the rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Chai on 23 Oct 2016

We got a bonus 80,000 points when we signed up, which definitely put us ahead. Now we are eight months in and have $700 worth of points — definitely worth the $250 annual fee. Rewards are amazing and extremely convenient to claim, and it’s so easy through the CommBank app. I’ve been recommending it to all my friends and family.

Show 29 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Mastercard & Amex
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$50,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$10 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6000
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Platinum Awards Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$249 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$2.50 or 2% whichever is greater
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Rewards program basics

Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Commonwealth Bank Awards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points (AmEx)
1 pt per $1 spent
Frequent flyer points (mc/Visa)
0.4 pts per $1 spent
Overseas earn rate (AmEx)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (mc/Visa)
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per month (mc/Visa)
N/A
Points cap per year (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per year (mc/Visa)
150,000
Points earned on ATO payments (AmEx)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (mc/Visa)
N/A
Reward points (AmEx)
2.5 pts per $1 spent
Reward points (mc/Visa)
1 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,341

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Total estimated value$1,341
Annual fee$249
Net customer value$1,092
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $50,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: