Gem Visa

offer
card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
apply
Get 0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Long term low interest available on purchases at thousands of stores.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
Add to comparison
-
24.99% p.a.
ongoing
$99
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Longer term interest-free promotions available at thousands of stores nationwide.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
$99 p.a. annual fee is on the high side compared with other low interest cards.
$20 late payment fee.

User reviews

3.0 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews52% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The interest rate is killing me

Reviewed and not recommended by Tasha on 30 Apr 2017

This card has such a high interest rate, I feel I can never reduce the balance. I am tempted to find a low interest credit card to transfer over to, so i can save $$$$$.

It is convenient, but it’s not good when the interest rate is so high. At least if it was a lower rate there would be more chance of customers spending on it, as they wouldn’t be paying it off so much.

It was a big mistake

Reviewed and not recommended by Letisha on 04 Apr 2017

I have only this card – my first one – big mistake: high interest, no rewards, no way of getting ahead. It’s slow and painful, costing a lot more than I thought. It makes me feel sick.

I can’t wait to get it down a little, and change through Credit Card Compare to one that will reward me and have lower interest.

Charges are astronomical

Reviewed and not recommended by Pauline on 08 Jan 2017

It is convenient, but the charges are astronomical and there are more charges than actual spending. You never seem to be able to reduce the balance amount as the charges are over and above what is necessary, even if you pay more than the amount owing per month. I am not happy at all.

Haven't saved with this card, but it's convenient

Reviewed and recommended by Chris on 07 Jan 2017

It’s a convenient card to get you out of trouble but the interest rate is not the best. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a credit card and has an average credit rating. That way, at the very least, you can gain a better credit score from this card.

Straightforward and easy all the way

Reviewed and recommended by Tamara on 25 Nov 2016

Gem Visa has been the best credit card company to go through. I have certain issues with overdrawing and have never been hit with a large fee. Payments are a breeze to make — a simple transfer every pay is a simple task. It takes no time at all out of your day. Paying each month leaves you with no existing fees, with no hassle of overdrawing.

On applying for the credit card, the customer service team was a blast to talk to. All my questions were answered, everything was a breeze, and in no time I was sent my card in the mail.

I have never had an issue with credit theft or any hassles with my bills. Everything has been straightforward and straight sailing.

I would never choose another credit card company.

Exorbitant fees

Reviewed and not recommended by Danielle on 24 Nov 2016

It has excellent customer service and is a convenient card to use. But It has high rates and fees and few rewards.

The late fee is $25. The annual card fee is $99. It costs $0.95 to pay your bill. This is unethical and exorbitant. I would not recommend to anyone. I will pay it off and close it as soon as I can. Never again will I obtain a card through Gem Visa.

Hidden costs

Reviewed and not recommended by Mel on 16 Nov 2016

Why is no one talking about the annual fee as well as a 95c charge for every payment you make. It all adds up, especially if you budget weekly and pay bills. The interest-free period is good, but overall fees are not fine. We initially got this card for a holiday away.

They want to charge you interest for years to come

Reviewed and not recommended by Maggie on 10 Nov 2016

This is a big corporations that want you to default on your credit card so they can continue to charge you fees for years to come. It is unfortunate that the banks supply these cards to Australians that cannot afford the repayments. The rich get richer and the poor get poorer. Credit cards are not achievable for the normal working-class Australian.

Good 0% interest deals, but high normal interest

Reviewed and recommended by Niamh on 09 Nov 2016

I have only just begun to use Gem Visa but have found it quite acceptable so far. They have good 0% interest offers for purchases over $250 and are in business with various companies to offer you long-term 0% interest rates — e.g. eye laser surgery 0% for 24 months with Vision Eye Institute.

There’s a reasonable annual fee, but an expensive purchase interest rate if you go off the 0% offer.

I only had to speak with customer service once. I found them quick to answer and relatively helpful.

Interest-free large purchases, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Joanne on 28 Oct 2016

My Gem card has been a lifesaver &mdash six months to pay off any purchase over $250.

Customer service is fantastic. A company split my purchase into four amounts, so I wouldn’t have qualified for the interest-free period. But I flicked Gem a Facebook message and they had it fixed up within three days.

Show 32 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
N/A
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.08% 24.99% p.a.
Purchases 2.08% 24.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$5
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$10
Transaction verification fee
N/A

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards: