Gem Visa

Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Get 0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Long term low interest available on purchases at thousands of stores.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
Add to comparison
-
24.99% p.a.
ongoing
$99
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Longer term interest-free promotions available at thousands of stores nationwide.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
$99 p.a. annual fee is on the high side compared with other low interest cards.
$20 late payment fee.

User reviews

3.0 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews52% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

I wish I never had this one

Reviewed and not recommended by tracy on 12 Aug 2013

Looking back at why I got this one. I was in a hurry to buy some new furniture as dogs totally wrecked some of my furniture. I took first card I came across. Should have done some more research on it first before applying. Definitely would have chose another with cheaper rates.

Slashed power bills purchasing solar power

Reviewed and recommended by Martin on 12 Jun 2015

Zero interest for any purchases over $250. Online banking is handy once set up. It was a bit of a task setting it up, but in saying that, customer service was helpful.

Late fees are a bit steep, but that’s our fault for not organising a direct debit straight away. Overall I think I’ll keep using this card.

Overall a very pleasant card to have

Reviewed and recommended by Shenae on 31 Mar 2014

I first got this card as part of 'finance’ from Super AMart when I brought a couch. I signed up for it not really knowing what i was getting myself into. But has been the best credit card, pretty easy to change my credit limit up or down, however i want. I can very easily see how much i have left of the card online and super easy to view my statements every month. I get constant email updates on when a payment has been received and when payment is due. Only down side is customer service, they don’t really understand what you want, it took me 4 months to change my name on my statements.

They want to charge you interest for years to come

Reviewed and not recommended by Maggie on 10 Nov 2016

This is a big corporations that want you to default on your credit card so they can continue to charge you fees for years to come. It is unfortunate that the banks supply these cards to Australians that cannot afford the repayments. The rich get richer and the poor get poorer. Credit cards are not achievable for the normal working-class Australian.

High interest rate with this card

Reviewed and not recommended by Shane on 26 Sep 2016

This card is good if you can manage to pay the debt off within the 6 to 12 months interest-free period. After that the rate is fairly high, and unaffordable on low incomes.

The staff and help lines are reasonably efficient and easy to deal with, to make payments or set up payment instalments.

I saved a lot of money with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Michal on 09 Jun 2016

I like to withdraw cash from my credit cards and this is the first one that has not charged me an arm and a leg for doing so. The Gem card only charges three dollars for a cash withdrawal, where the other cards that I own have charged up to and including nine dollars—a saving of six dollars per withdrawal. If you multiply for ten withdrawals, it becomes a far amount of cash.

Happy for now

Reviewed and recommended by Jenna on 03 Sep 2013

Love the interest free periods and offers. Great for paying unexpected bills. Sometimes wish you could withdraw cash without such a high interest. But this can be good too cause you only use it when you purchase something over $250. But very easy to make payments, customer service good, and excepted in slot of stores! Happy for now

What you see is what you get

Reviewed and recommended by Leah on 09 Sep 2013

Great if you pay on time with the interest free periods. Not so great on the annual fee but we can’t have it all. Customer service is beyond excellence as is the speed of delivering what they say they will do. Very reliable and trustworthy. Everything is clear and precise on their website with no hidden fees.

Terrible customer service

Reviewed and not recommended by Nicole on 16 Jun 2016

I had my card hacked. They suspended my card immediately, but then made me wait a month before sending out a new card! Then they gave me a late fee for not paying my bill! My card was suspended and I was not able to make payment. I’ve just been told not to worry about it. I’m not happy at all.

Interest too high

Reviewed and not recommended by teresa on 02 Aug 2016

Handy to have, as my husband has cancer. It made it easy to pay bills for treatment and hospital cover. But as the interest rate has gone up yet again, it is now too expensive to use if you don’t pay it all off. So now I am looking for a new card to transfer over to.

Show 32 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
N/A
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.08% 24.99% p.a.
Purchases 2.08% 24.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$10
Transaction verification fee
N/A

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: