Gem Visa

Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Get 0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Long term low interest available on purchases at thousands of stores.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
Add to comparison
-
24.99% p.a.
ongoing
$99
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Longer term interest-free promotions available at thousands of stores nationwide.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
$99 p.a. annual fee is on the high side compared with other low interest cards.
$20 late payment fee.

User reviews

3.0 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews52% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Very pleased with customer service

Reviewed and recommended by Happy on 04 Sep 2013

I was having trouble making my repayments as a result of ending up in hospital and not being able to work. They were very understanding and helpful and organised a hardship payment plan that was well within my current budget. A big relief during a difficult time. Would recommend to anyone.

Great for emergencies and 0% interest purchases.

Reviewed and recommended by Lori on 26 Sep 2016

I got this card so I could buy a gold chain for my partner’s birthday on an interest-free period. I loved the convenience and ease of getting it. I didn’t have to pay the annual fee initially because I was employed with a company that it was waived for.

I have been very happy so far with the ease of managing my account and billing information.

I would only use this card if I could pay it off in the interest-free period as the rates are very high. It is great for people who need to have emergency funds available and have no other options available to them.

Great interest free card, but love stops there

Reviewed and not recommended by Paul on 06 Jul 2016

A great card if you want to make large purchases as you get at least 6 months interest free on purchases over $350, plus many retailers offer longer interest-free deals on other purchases. However, their call center is extremely bad. For one, it is not based in Australia, and their customer service is slow and they are difficult to understand. Obtaining information can require that you go through multiple consultants until they find someone that can answer your question. Their online customer access is quite good. The transaction details allow you separate interest-free purchases from regular purchases.

Overall, it is a good card for large interest-free purchases and for other purchases provided you pay off the balance in the interest-free time frame. If you don’t, be prepared for massive interest. There are better, cheaper cards out there for more everyday purchasing habits that have comparable online access and better customer service.

The best credit card I've ever had

Reviewed and recommended by Peter on 22 Jul 2016

I love Gem Visa, because no matter where you spend $250 you get six months interest free, which comes in really handy for stuff like car regos and unexpected bills like dentists and mechanics. Then there are options for longer interest-free periods, like 12, 24 or even up to 50 months, which has been great. Definitely the best credit card I’ve ever had.

Easy set-up, quick approval

Reviewed and recommended by Zoey on 23 Oct 2016

Setting up my card was very easy, and it did not take long to approve.

After six months I wanted to top up my card for Christmas so I called them to see if this was possible. They were very helpful and it didn’t take long to top up my card limit.

I do feel the Interest is a bit high in comparison to other cards.

Charges are astronomical

Reviewed and not recommended by Pauline on 08 Jan 2017

It is convenient, but the charges are astronomical and there are more charges than actual spending. You never seem to be able to reduce the balance amount as the charges are over and above what is necessary, even if you pay more than the amount owing per month. I am not happy at all.

Interest-free large purchases, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Joanne on 28 Oct 2016

My Gem card has been a lifesaver &mdash six months to pay off any purchase over $250.

Customer service is fantastic. A company split my purchase into four amounts, so I wouldn’t have qualified for the interest-free period. But I flicked Gem a Facebook message and they had it fixed up within three days.

Great card, great company, easy online system

Reviewed and recommended by Pete on 22 Aug 2016

Gem has quick approval, is easy to deal with and has an awesome website to help manage your card. I have used it overseas, for car repairs, bills and personal treats. There’s easy online limit extension too. Choose this card before one from your bank.

They also let you make extra payments or bulk payments with no consequences, and when it is time to cancel the card, it only takes a phone call.

Slashed power bills purchasing solar power

Reviewed and recommended by Martin on 12 Jun 2015

Zero interest for any purchases over $250. Online banking is handy once set up. It was a bit of a task setting it up, but in saying that, customer service was helpful.

Late fees are a bit steep, but that’s our fault for not organising a direct debit straight away. Overall I think I’ll keep using this card.

Interest-free furniture purchase

Reviewed and recommended by Morgan on 29 Sep 2016

I only got this card for finance on some furniture. It was very helpful in that regard, but otherwise I don’t use it. There are quite a few extra charges on it.

The customer service has been fairly good, apart from a few hiccups in miscommunication at first. They try to send me offers occasionally but I have never purchased with the card itself to receive any of the deals.

Show 32 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
N/A
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.08% 24.99% p.a.
Purchases 2.08% 24.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$10
Transaction verification fee
N/A

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: