Gem Visa

Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Get 0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Long term low interest available on purchases at thousands of stores.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
Add to comparison
-
24.99% p.a.
ongoing
$99
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% interest on purchases of $250 or more.
Longer term interest-free promotions available at thousands of stores nationwide.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
$99 p.a. annual fee is on the high side compared with other low interest cards.
$20 late payment fee.

User reviews

3.0 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews52% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

It was a big mistake

Reviewed and not recommended by Letisha on 04 Apr 2017

I have only this card – my first one – big mistake: high interest, no rewards, no way of getting ahead. It’s slow and painful, costing a lot more than I thought. It makes me feel sick.

I can’t wait to get it down a little, and change through Credit Card Compare to one that will reward me and have lower interest.

Great way to spread out costs

Reviewed and recommended by Deb on 05 Jul 2016

The $99 annual fee is a bit pricey, but six months interest-free on all transactions over $250 is a fantastic way to spread out payments. I used to split my payments for utilities and rates over about 4-6 weeks. Now I pay in full and have 6 months to pay, with no interest.

Charges i can't understand

Reviewed and not recommended by Cecille on 02 Aug 2016

I always pay more than what i need to pay, and often ahead of the due date because I pay weekly. But i still keep seeing finance charges, sometimes twice in a month.

it’s good that it has a six months’ period to pay purchases. it says 'no interest’, but with multiple finance charges i doubt it.

It also offered 12 months interest free, but when I bought an Apple Mac the due date was put at only six months. I rang Gem Visa and was told i needed to ring Apple. When i did, I was told that it was Gem Visa’s promo, not Apple’s. i rang Gem again and it was not resolved. So I ended up paying for the Macbook in six months instead.

It also has a $100 annual fee, and no rewards at all.

Easy set-up, quick approval

Reviewed and recommended by Zoey on 23 Oct 2016

Setting up my card was very easy, and it did not take long to approve.

After six months I wanted to top up my card for Christmas so I called them to see if this was possible. They were very helpful and it didn’t take long to top up my card limit.

I do feel the Interest is a bit high in comparison to other cards.

I have saved money on this card

Reviewed and not recommended by Priscilla Fleming on 22 Jul 2015

I like having this card. It helped me out when I needed to pay for my car, for my license renewal, Christmas presents, school stuff, and for other things too. And it doesn’t cost me much to pay it back. That’s why I like it.

Haven't saved with this card, but it's convenient

Reviewed and recommended by Chris on 07 Jan 2017

It’s a convenient card to get you out of trouble but the interest rate is not the best. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a credit card and has an average credit rating. That way, at the very least, you can gain a better credit score from this card.

Customer service was great

Reviewed and not recommended by Robyn on 20 Sep 2016

Although I have had trouble in the past paying this card, the customer service people were great. They helped with a payment plan that would work for me and understood the financial problems I was having. They also called if there was unusual activity on the card. It’s just the fees that are hard.

High interest rate with this card

Reviewed and not recommended by Shane on 26 Sep 2016

This card is good if you can manage to pay the debt off within the 6 to 12 months interest-free period. After that the rate is fairly high, and unaffordable on low incomes.

The staff and help lines are reasonably efficient and easy to deal with, to make payments or set up payment instalments.

Interest-free large purchases, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Joanne on 28 Oct 2016

My Gem card has been a lifesaver &mdash six months to pay off any purchase over $250.

Customer service is fantastic. A company split my purchase into four amounts, so I wouldn’t have qualified for the interest-free period. But I flicked Gem a Facebook message and they had it fixed up within three days.

Interest-free furniture purchase

Reviewed and recommended by Morgan on 29 Sep 2016

I only got this card for finance on some furniture. It was very helpful in that regard, but otherwise I don’t use it. There are quite a few extra charges on it.

The customer service has been fairly good, apart from a few hiccups in miscommunication at first. They try to send me offers occasionally but I have never purchased with the card itself to receive any of the deals.

Show 32 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
N/A
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.08% 24.99% p.a.
Purchases 2.08% 24.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$99 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$10
Transaction verification fee
N/A

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.
Featured in
Compare these cards: