GO Mastercard

Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Long interest free days.
Up to 62 days on purchases free of interest.
Earn rewards on the GO Rewards Program.
Add to comparison
-
22.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Up to 62 days on purchases is above average.
Earn 1 pt per $1 spent with GO Rewards.
The $0 p.a. annual fee isn’t too high for a rewards card.
It costs $0 to replace a lost or stolen card while abroad.
Points are capped at 100,000 per year.
No introductory offer for balance transfers or purchases.
The 22.74% p.a. interest rate on purchases is quite high.

User reviews

3.4 out of 5.0 based on 52 reviews83% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

No-interest periods

Reviewed and recommended by Sereena on 30 Aug 2016

I have had this account for many years, I would say approximately six years. I have never had an issue with it.

I absolutely love their online account system — it is so easy to use. Payment options are great also.

I will continue to use this account. I love it especially for the no-interest period offers

Customer service could be better

Reviewed and recommended by Andrew on 25 Sep 2013

Overall not a bad card. They could do better with customer service. But still get things done. The interest is low and good credit facilities. I have never had any major issues with them and the card is accepted almost everywhere. You can apply very easily. Long interest free terms. Up to 60 days.

I wish I never had this one

Reviewed and not recommended by Too expensive on 20 Aug 2013

The interest rates have always been high, they have never lowered there rates. They are not competitive. The monthly charges are to high, the protection insurance cover is to high. It’s not easy to access the insurance cover when your circumstance’s change. Instead of giving a person a reprieve they insist you keep paying and add more fees if you fall behind which really does not help a person when struggling to make the payments in the first place.

My pay it on a plan card

Reviewed and recommended by Catherine on 06 Jul 2016

I use this to purchase on a plan and as long as I repay by the contract date I’m ok. I have not run into any trouble with it so far, but could see that it is possible and do worry about it at times. As a single person with a single income, I try hard to manage it well so as not to get caught with the high interest rates.

Interest free period with selected retailers

Reviewed and not recommended by Howard Rix on 24 Jul 2015

I initially obtained credit for a purchase through Harvey Norman for the amount of $900. I could not clear the interest free component in the 36 months, which has now become a high interest debt. High interest rates and fees makes this card expensive. It is widely accepted and cash advances are readily available through a variety of ATMs.

If possible I would recommend other less expensive cards, but if you want interest free periods then use this card but definitely pay that component out before the interest free period expires.

Pay on time, or interest goes through the roof

Reviewed and recommended by Ben on 05 Dec 2016

This is great for a no-interest card from Harvey Norman. I paid it off fast with minimal fees imposed. I would definitely use it again if I needed furniture that was expensive.

I’m hoping this helps anyone thinking of getting this card. The only downside is that the interest rate goes through the roof if you do not make the repayment on time.

Total trust in this card

Reviewed and recommended by Diann on 03 Jul 2016

This card gives me what I want: low fees, great rewards, and total control. They give me special bonuses and when I need something out of my finance, I can always get interest-free. I always get to talk to a real person and they are always friendly. I wouldn’t have any other card.

Good 0% interest deals for shopping

Reviewed and recommended by Andrew on 25 Sep 2016

This is a good card for interest-free purchases at a large number of retailers, so long as you are disciplined and pay off the interest-free amount within the time period. It’s great to help spread the cost of larger purchases, although you are charged a $4.95 monthly fee — but hey, you can get up to 60 months interest free.

Also watch how you repay each month, as some types of repayments attract fees. Overall, it’s a good card if used wisely.

So convenient

Reviewed and recommended by Abby on 28 Sep 2015

My partner and I had recently moved out, and had nothing and were just relying on donated items. The GO MasterCard allowed us to buy a brand new couch set that was comfortable and enabled us to not have to stress about where the money would come from upfront.

I have found their customer service to be quick and efficient, and their self-serve menu when you call up is also one of the easiest and most convenient that I have used.

A card that doesn't work

Reviewed and recommended by Nick on 20 Sep 2016

If you want a credit card that you can rarely use this is the one. Every time I have tried to use the card it will not register through payWave, microchip or swiping, even though its been replaced four times. Although this is great for saving money, every purchase I make has to be online.

I’ve all but given up with customer service, They’re as reliable as the card itself.

So, in summary, if you want a card that will technically save you money, get this one because it can barely be used.

Show 42 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 62 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.46% 29.49% p.a.
Purchases 1.90% 22.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$5
Overseas ATM balance fee
$4
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Rewards & points

Rewards program basics

Reward points expiry
N/A
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
N/A
Points cap per year
100,000
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.
Featured in
Compare these cards: