GO Mastercard

offer
card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
apply
Long interest free days.
Up to 62 days on purchases free of interest.
Earn rewards on the GO Rewards Program.
Add to comparison
-
22.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Up to 62 days on purchases is above average.
Earn 1 pt per $1 spent with GO Rewards.
The $0 p.a. annual fee isn’t too high for a rewards card.
It costs $0 to replace a lost or stolen card while abroad.
Points are capped at 100,000 per year.
No introductory offer for balance transfers or purchases.
The 22.74% p.a. interest rate on purchases is quite high.

User reviews

3.4 out of 5.0 based on 52 reviews83% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

Horrid customer service

Reviewed and not recommended by Elka on 12 Apr 2017

They have an offshore call centre and every time I call, it’s a struggle to have my query understood or actioned efficiently. I am propositioned for multiple offers when I have enough issues with their credit card as is.

The fees are high and their website is difficult to navigate.

Great for interest free-promotions

Reviewed and recommended by Narelle on 12 Dec 2016

This card is great for interest free promotions with stores like Harvey Norman, and allows us to buy typically expensive household appliances such as our fridge and oven and computers with even monthly repayments. We are easily able to keep track of payments with the online portal. This way of shopping makes larger purchases more easily affordable.

Good card, good rewards and not many fees

Reviewed and recommended by Bex on 11 Dec 2016

PROS
You earn points on purchases. These points add up to some very nice rewards, from cutlery to TVs.
There is no account fee.
Their website is easy to use.

CONS
Sometimes the card is declined on larger purchases (for us, e.g. sofas, solar panels).
The $4.95 “account fee” every month is annoying.
They are hard to contact in an easy way — no secure messaging so you have to go via Twitter and then you need to prove who you are.
Also, they now charge a fee for paying your balance using online banking! So I had to set up a direct debit to stop that.
It hardly has any offers or incentives — in the four years I’ve had it, I’ve only had about one.

Interest-free purchases but payment system annoys

Reviewed and recommended by Michael on 05 Dec 2016

It’s easy to make an interest-free purchase. But it’s annoying that payments are automatically allocated to interest-free components before going to everyday spending (which incurs interest). I need to call them to allocate funds back to everyday spending, away from interest-free transactions.

There are annoying $0.90 fees for BPAY payments. To avoid this, you need to use the website to transfer funds, and this process takes 2-3 days to complete.

Pay on time, or interest goes through the roof

Reviewed and recommended by Ben on 05 Dec 2016

This is great for a no-interest card from Harvey Norman. I paid it off fast with minimal fees imposed. I would definitely use it again if I needed furniture that was expensive.

I’m hoping this helps anyone thinking of getting this card. The only downside is that the interest rate goes through the roof if you do not make the repayment on time.

Interest-free options, good phone service

Reviewed and recommended by Heather on 23 Nov 2016

I love this card. It has low fees, lots of interest-free options and it’s so easy to manage! It’s easy to use, customer service is great and I get to speak to real people who quickly resolve any questions I may have. You can use this card pretty much anywhere you want.

Checked my credit and signed me up in 5 minutes

Reviewed and recommended by Jessie on 16 Nov 2016

They are a great, reliable company. This is my first credit card and they made it quick and easy for me to understand. They were able to not only sign me up, but within the same five minutes they were also able to do a free credit check and I was able to buy a new laptop straight away. Fantastic, five stars.

Rip off charges, so they've lost my custom

Reviewed and not recommended by Peter on 27 Oct 2016

I’ve been a GO MasterCard holder for over 10 years now and I’m finally giving in.

In all the time I have been a customer I think I may have missed two payments that weren’t paid on time, the most recent being last month when I was one day overdue. For that indiscretion I was charged $74.39 as Billed Finance Charges and $34.72 as Billed Deferred Interest. Then again, this month, a figure of $32.20 as Billed Finance Charges showed up. All this over a payment being one day late on a statement amount of $2686. What a giant rip off!

I tried ringing twice to dispute the amounts and straighten things out with them, but was told on the second call (after being cut off during the first call) that the system was down and to call later. The next day I had no success with the operator. Their service is horrid and the people from the overseas centres are hard to understand .

They have also introduced a BPAY payment fee of $0.95 each time you make a payment.

I have had it with this mob. No more. Bye bye GO MasterCard. Over $30,000 of my business, annually, gone forever. Well done!

Quick and easy

Reviewed and recommended by Richard on 21 Oct 2016

The best part about this card was that it was quick and easy to apply for. It’s very easy to find out anything you need to, as well. Online features are easy to use.

The only downside was that interest was quite high, but other than that, no complaints.
I give it 4 out of 5 overall.

Good for larger purchases, but beware fees

Reviewed and recommended by Trish on 29 Sep 2016

The GO MasterCard is convenient for those who need to make a big purchase of either electrical or white goods. There is a good interest-free period for purchases, but do be aware of the high interest rate after the free period ends. From memory, the standard interest rate is 21.99%, plus there are monthly admin fees ($4.95) for having the credit account. Please note that there are extra fees charged of $2.50 per month if you wish for a posted statement, and also another $2.50 per month if you pay with any other method except BPAY or monthly direct debit.

If you are good at balancing your budget and can strictly meet your instalment payments on time, then this is a worthwhile credit card for those “one-off” larger-type purchases for your household (e.g. flat screen TV, stove, fridge) or for your education (e.g. iPad and other computing devices). Otherwise, the GO MasterCard will be a dangerous trap for those who don’t have the funds to meet their desired large purchases at the time they decide to make them, and who will struggle with debt repayments afterwards.

Show 42 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 62 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.46% 29.49% p.a.
Purchases 1.90% 22.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$0
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$5
Overseas ATM balance fee
$4
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Rewards

Rewards program basics

Reward points expiry
N/A
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

ATO payment earns rewards
N/A
Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
N/A
Points cap per year
100,000
Reward points
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards: