GO Mastercard

Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Long interest free days.
Up to 62 days on purchases free of interest.
Earn rewards on the GO Rewards Program.
Add to comparison
-
22.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Up to 62 days on purchases is above average.
Earn 1 pt per $1 spent with GO Rewards.
The $0 p.a. annual fee isn’t too high for a rewards card.
It costs $0 to replace a lost or stolen card while abroad.
Points are capped at 100,000 per year.
No introductory offer for balance transfers or purchases.
The 22.74% p.a. interest rate on purchases is quite high.

User reviews

3.4 out of 5.0 based on 52 reviews83% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Interest free period with selected retailers

Reviewed and not recommended by Howard Rix on 24 Jul 2015

I initially obtained credit for a purchase through Harvey Norman for the amount of $900. I could not clear the interest free component in the 36 months, which has now become a high interest debt. High interest rates and fees makes this card expensive. It is widely accepted and cash advances are readily available through a variety of ATMs.

If possible I would recommend other less expensive cards, but if you want interest free periods then use this card but definitely pay that component out before the interest free period expires.

Fast application and processing

Reviewed and recommended by Cassandra on 14 Jul 2015

This card has reasonable interest rates with great offers from major retailers including Harvey Norman. There’s excellent online access to account information, including requests to increase the credit limit. BPAY payments processed very fast and applied to account within a day. Friendly phone staff who do what they say accurately and quickly.

So convenient

Reviewed and recommended by Abby on 28 Sep 2015

My partner and I had recently moved out, and had nothing and were just relying on donated items. The GO MasterCard allowed us to buy a brand new couch set that was comfortable and enabled us to not have to stress about where the money would come from upfront.

I have found their customer service to be quick and efficient, and their self-serve menu when you call up is also one of the easiest and most convenient that I have used.

Interest-free purchases but payment system annoys

Reviewed and recommended by Michael on 05 Dec 2016

It’s easy to make an interest-free purchase. But it’s annoying that payments are automatically allocated to interest-free components before going to everyday spending (which incurs interest). I need to call them to allocate funds back to everyday spending, away from interest-free transactions.

There are annoying $0.90 fees for BPAY payments. To avoid this, you need to use the website to transfer funds, and this process takes 2-3 days to complete.

Interest-free options, good phone service

Reviewed and recommended by Heather on 23 Nov 2016

I love this card. It has low fees, lots of interest-free options and it’s so easy to manage! It’s easy to use, customer service is great and I get to speak to real people who quickly resolve any questions I may have. You can use this card pretty much anywhere you want.

Interest-free, good credit card

Reviewed and recommended by Akshay on 25 Sep 2016

I used this card for shopping and to purchase home electronics. It’s interest-free and has a $60 annual fee, but they are flexible in credit limit and payment arrangements. It’s basically an instalment-based credit card which helps you to not have to fork out $2000 at one go for electronics and household equipment like a fridge, TV, etc

Great for no interest

Reviewed and recommended by Rach on 23 Sep 2015

The GO MasterCard is a great credit card for promotional offers with no interest at participated retailers. I have this card to use for furniture purchases. Most major retailers offer no interest over extended periods, so I usually have the item paid off before the interest starts. Not a good card for everyday purchases.

Horrid customer service

Reviewed and not recommended by Elka on 12 Apr 2017

They have an offshore call centre and every time I call, it’s a struggle to have my query understood or actioned efficiently. I am propositioned for multiple offers when I have enough issues with their credit card as is.

The fees are high and their website is difficult to navigate.

The interest-free promotions are great

Reviewed and recommended by Nicole on 16 Jun 2016

If you have one of these cards and use it correctly then you can get the things you want and pay it off over time interest-free. It’s very handy when you don’t have the funds up front and need something quickly. There are many banks that offer interest-free terms with different promotions and periods.

Useful low interest rates

Reviewed and recommended by Troy on 10 Aug 2016

When I got this card I received good interest rates and cheap insurance if something happened (if, for example, I got laid off or became ill, etc). I recommend this card to people who want to buy from large retailers that are offering interest-free deals, as it is helps to pay back.

Show 42 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
N/A
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
9
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
N/A
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 62 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
3%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 2.46% 29.49% p.a.
Purchases 1.90% 22.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
N/A
Duplicate statement fee
$2.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$5
Overseas ATM balance fee
$4
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Rewards & points

Rewards program basics

Reward points expiry
N/A
Rewards program
GO Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
N/A
Points cap per year
100,000
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Austudy and Youth Allowance are not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards: