NAB Low Fee Platinum Card

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers. (2% balance transfer fee applies). Reverts to cash advance rate.
24 hour, 7 day Platinum Concierge Service.
7 types of complimentary insurances including overseas travel insurance.
Add to comparison
24 months
0% p.a.
then 21.74%
with a 2% fee
19.74% p.a.
ongoing
$90
ongoing

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

0% p.a. for 24 months on balance transfers. (2% balance transfer fee applies). Reverts to cash advance rate.
No cost for additional cardholders.
7 complimentary insurances: Overseas Travel Insurance, Interstate Flight Inconvenience Insurance, Transport Accident Insurance, Domestic Hotel Burglary Insurance, Purchase Protection Insurance, Extended Warranty Insurance, Price Protection Insurance.
Platinum Concierge Service—your own 24 hour, 7 day personal assistant.
Access to our 24/7 NAB Service Centre.
A one-off 2% balance transfer fee applies to the amount that you transfer.
The normal interest rate on purchases is higher than the average.
There is an annual fee to pay.

*NAB may vary or end this offer at any time.

User reviews

3.6 out of 5.0 based on 27 reviews85% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

NAB is the best bank I've ever dealt with

Reviewed and recommended by Joy Harris on 16 Jul 2015

I’m 63 and have moved back and forth between continents and NAB has been the best for instant and cheerful service. I’ve never enjoyed their policy of no overdraw or late fees at any other bank.

I was on my own for the first time due to domestic violence and have been grateful for their patient serving someone who was unfamiliar with online banking and other aspects of their account.

After 2 years of paying off my credit card monthly (no interest charges), they automatically switched me to a premium card that has so many more benefits than the card I opened my account with. Plus, it had the same low annual fee as my original card, instead of raising the fee to what is required of a normal premium card.

When I’ve had issues involving needing refunds for online charges or with balance transfers, the customer service representative has always been so helpful and accorded me trust.

Good online budgeting tool

Reviewed and recommended by Catherine on 24 Sep 2016

We pay in full every month so never pay interest.

The internet login allows budgeting in detail, to see what we’re spending, including comparing to prior month/quarter/year etc.

NAB have contacted me VERY quickly when suspected unauthorised transactions have flagged with them. (Sometimes these transactions have been okay, and at other times not authorised by me).

Generally happy with this card

Reviewed and recommended by SSW on 05 Sep 2014

I’m very happy with this card as I don’t have to pay any interest rates and/or annual fees. The staff are always happy to help and give me good financial advice. The only con I have is that I don’t receive any Qantas Frequent Flyer points. All in all happy with it.

Saved a ton

Reviewed and recommended by Paula on 10 Aug 2016

This card was great. We were able to book a holiday and pay it off because of the 0% interest for 15 months.

it was quick and easy to apply for, and the card was delivered quickly. I even recommended it to another friend who also applied for it and got it.

Great rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Sally on 14 Jul 2015

It’s a great card to earn flybuys points. You can use it overseas with a fee and there’s a good online banking app, but if you don’t pay the account in full at the due date, the interest and fees are high, so use it wisely.

Telephone banking help line is quite good – staff are helpful and friendly. Apply for this card if you are into getting flybuys points.

Handy credit card to have

Reviewed and recommended by Raschle on 02 Jul 2016

I am overall very pleased with this card although rewards are missing. I’ve had it now for a number of years and never really had any problems with it anywhere I have used it in the world. It’s accepted worldwide. The interest-free period is very good before having to pay interest.

Cost-free and widely accepted

Reviewed and recommended by Sue on 24 Jul 2016

I was offered this card fee-free because I have savings. I have had no problems. It doesn’t cost me anything as I pay it off completely every month and my savings earn interest in the meantime. So far it has been accepted everywhere I have shopped. If I NEED something I don’t have to worry about if I have enough money. I just pay for it.

I'm happy with my card

Reviewed and recommended by Naughty & Necessary on 21 Aug 2013

As a Centrelink Pensioner I find this card helps me budget my finances & at the same time provides rewards I use at Xmas time. The Fly Buy points I earn are the only reason I chose this card. On the other hand I don’t understand why credit card providers need to charge 3 to 5 times the housing loan rate. Furthermore I don’t see the need for some service providers, Telstra, Origin Energy, need to charge a processing fee when, as a CPA, I know the cost of processing a cheque or direct debit is higher.

Disappointing and misleading

Reviewed and not recommended by Annoyed on 07 Mar 2017

The application process took three weeks. Once the account had been created, I then checked my other account each day waiting for the balance transfer to be completed. Nothing was happening. I phoned the bank and they told me that sometimes it can take five business days.

Finally I received a letter in the post advising they were unable to process as there was an error in the account to be transferred. This letter was dated 23 February and I received it on 6 March! It stated that if they didn’t hear from me within 14 days, they wouldn’t proceed. I immediately phoned them to enquire about the problem. It turns out that they don’t provide credit card transfer to all accounts. Given that the application required all this information when I applied online, it would have made sense if I was advised of this from the beginning.

I’ll be going into the branch and closing the account … such a waste of time. Really disappointing given that NAB seem to be the only bank that pick and choose. I would have expected a far better service given it’s one of the major banks in Australia. That’s one of the main reasons I went with them.

It's a good card

Reviewed and recommended by Koula on 14 Jul 2015

The card is fine. I have just been changed to Premium, so I’m not sure on the rewards side of things as yet. However, the rates and fees on the card are good and I am happy with it.

I would recommend NAB cards generally as I have always had good experiences with them.

Show 17 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 44 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
N/A

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%90% of credit limit21.74% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
90% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the NAB Low Fee Platinum Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • NAB

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.24 months2%90% of credit limit 21.74% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.81% 21.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.65% 19.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$90 p.a.
Cash advance fee
whichever is greater, $2.50 or 2%
Dishonour fee
$5
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$5
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$5

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,458

SecurityEstimated value
Secure Sentinel lost or stolen card service
Valuation based on Secure Sentinel's membership fee spread over 5 years.
$17
Shopping
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Domestic hotel burglary insurance
Valuation based on making a $500 claim once every 5 years. Limited to a maximum claim of $2,500. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$100
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Total estimated value$1,458
Annual fee$90
Net customer value$1,368
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Austudy, Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Youth Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards: