NAB Qantas Rewards Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Earn Qantas Points on eligible everyday purchases.
Fast 60 second instant approval process.
4.99% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months.
Add to comparison
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Qantas Frequent Flyer
0.5 pts
per $1 spent capped
-

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

4.99% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months.
Earn Qantas Points on eligible everyday purchases.
Free membership into the Qantas Frequent Flyer Program saving you $89.50.
Because there are two cards it gives you greater flexibility to earn points and avoid surcharges.
Complimentary purchase protection insurance.
Fast 60 second instant approval process.
Points are capped at 3,000 spend per statement.
After the promotional period, the fallback is the cash advance rate. Which is a high 21.74% p.a.

User reviews

3.9 out of 5.0 based on 15 reviews100% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Very pleased with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Jessica on 03 Jul 2016

I decided to get this credit card following an offer from NAB. I had just signed up to be a Qantas Frequent Flyer member and the idea of earning points by spending money certainly appealed to me. As I pay back the card monthly, I do not have to pay any interest and the fees are low. Overall I am happy that I decided to apply and obtain this credit card.

Points machine

Reviewed and recommended by Melissa on 21 Oct 2016

It’s a great card to earn points. I use it instead of my debit card and it’s amazing how quickly they can add up.

The service at NAB is pretty good and they always help you out when there is a problem.

The fee is a little high but it’s worth it.

Best credit card for Qantas points

Reviewed and recommended by Christos on 25 Sep 2016

A few months back I decided to shop around to find a credit card that would offer me the highest Qantas point yield per dollar spent. During my research I discovered that most credit cards out there limit the number of points you can earn in a statement period. The NAB Qantas Rewards card has no reward points cap, unlike other credit cards. In short, I would recommend this card to anyone who is looking for a credit card to earn Qantas Frequent Flyer Points at a high yield.

Super impressed with service

Reviewed and recommended by Vanessa on 17 Sep 2016

I am not super savvy when it comes to knowing all the tricks of the trade or getting the best out of my accounts and cards. I decided to step up and be proactive, and have recently joined the NAB team. Having never banked with them before I was super impressed with how great the service was as well as the simplicity and easy set up.

I am now hoping to pay off debts faster and in 100 years earn enough points to fly around the world.

Great first credit card with rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Lorna on 02 Dec 2016

I chose this as my first card due to the reasonably low annual fee and decent rewards scheme. My card has a pretty low limit as my aim was to build a credit history and start benefiting from paying bills, through rewards points.

I pay it all off fairy rapidly so it’s more like an extension of my debit card, but with rewards! So far it has been perfect for my needs. It comes with an American Express card linked, and I mostly use that. I have found that many places accept it without surcharge now, and it is perfect for PayPal purchases (looking at you, eBay-a-holic). All those little expenses and bills have added up with the 1.5 points per dollar Qantas rewards, and in a year I could earn enough points for a flight to Melbourne and a flight to Sydney one way from Brisbane. The bonus 15000 points are a nice touch.

Note: via Classic Rewards flights, you could grab a flight worth 12000 points in Australia, which is likely to set you back between $135-$250. So you can think about the fee in the first year as a $95 flight with some points left over — saving you upwards of $100. Yay!

- It’s a great choice for a first credit card, to build your credit history

- It has a reasonable annual fee at $95 for the bonus of getting rewards, provided you already spend enough to earn decent points

- It’s super easy to manage through online banking

- You can pay share house bills via AmEx (especially if you link it to PayPal), reap the rewards, and have your housemates directly BPAY your credit card. This is great if your housemates give you the money at different times, or get paid on different days and have to delay a few days. I would only recommend doing this with people you trust though.

- Some people might opt for the $39 low fee card instead as a starter. But consider — if you earn more than $56 of rewards in a year, which is very likely, it’s already worth it to get the Qantas card, especially with the bonus starter points.

- The best way and honestly only way to ensure you use your frequent flyer points so you don’t spend more than you would with cash, is to claim Classic Reward flights, or to upgrade to business or first class. If you aren’t interested in flying around Australia or maybe having a luxury flight to New Zealand (achievable in the short term) or saving up for that round-the-world trip (the 10-year plan), then maybe try a flybuys card and save on your groceries. Claiming points in the Qantas store is usually a total waste.

Altogether, if you have the nous and are a single person with no dependants and not a huge income, this is a great card to work the system with and really start benefiting from your spending. I personally cannot recommend it more for share house situations. Get all the rewards for only one third of the cost, or however you split the bills.

Overall, a good card

Reviewed and recommended by Darross on 24 Oct 2013

I’ve had this card for years, just never bothered to change to another. It is convenient to use and I have 100% trust in the bank and their security. Whenever there has been a problem, particularly when travelling overseas, their response is immediate and they are always easy to deal with.

Earned many Qantas Frequent Flyer points

Reviewed and recommended by le on 25 Sep 2016

This is a great card for frequent flyer points. Both Visa and American Express were offered simultaneously. As always, there’s great customer service at NAB.

The only negative is that the fees could be a bit lower. It is one of the most expensive cards to maintain. But overall, I’ve been happy with it.

Good card when you have a home loan

Reviewed and recommended by Andrew on 05 Jul 2016

We don’t pay any fees as we have a home loan with NAB. Rates are pretty standard.

You get two cards and the rewards are good. You get more for using the AmEx card, although not everywhere accepts it so we usually have to go for fewer points.

Service is good, but could definitely improve.

Earned plenty of Qantas points

Reviewed and recommended by Sarah on 06 Jul 2016

The amount of points you earn per dollar is good if you use your card for everything and pay it off straight away. Interest is high, but no different from most credit cards—all credit cards seem to charge a lot. Happy with the fact I can earn Qantas points on everyday spending.

Great for frequent flyer points

Reviewed and recommended by Xuerong on 26 Jul 2016

I’m very satisfied with the NAB card. Points earning rate is good on the AmEx card (1 point per dollar). The Visa earn rate at 0.5 per dollar is not as attractive, I can check my transactions online almost immediately. The complimentary insurance policy appears to offer good coverage. I’d recommend this card to others considering a frequent flyer-linked credit card account.

Show 5 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$55,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 44 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
N/A

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers4.99% p.a.6 monthsN/A90% of credit limit21.74% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
90% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the NAB Qantas Rewards Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • NAB

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers4.99% p.a.6 monthsN/A90% of credit limit 21.74% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.81% 21.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.67% 19.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$95 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$5
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$9
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$5

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
0.5 pts per $1 spent
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
3,000
Points cap per year
36,000
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
0.5 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $58

ShoppingEstimated value
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years.
$18
Total estimated value$58
Annual fee$95
Net customer value$-37
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular any weekly income
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Austudy, Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Youth Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: