NAB Qantas Rewards Premium Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
NAB Qantas Rewards Premium Card
Apply by 25 feb 18
20 reviews
25,000 points when you spend $2,500 in 60 days.
4.99% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months.
Seven complimentary insurances including overseas travel insurance.
Add to comparison
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Qantas Frequent Flyer
1 pt
per $1.50 spent
up to $3,000
then 0.5 pts
$3,001 to $6,000
More info
25,000
points
after spend criteria

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

25,000 points when you spend $2,500 in 60 days.
4.99% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months.
Complimentary Qantas Frequent Flyer membership valued at $89.50.
Seven complimentary insurances including overseas travel insurance.
Pay faster using Visa payWave.
There’s a substantial annual fee of $250 p.a.
Points will be capped at 72,000 spend per year.

User reviews

3.9 out of 5.0 based on 20 reviews90% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Good Qantas earning rates

Reviewed and recommended by Ashley on 28 Apr 2017

This card allows you to earn more where AmEx is accepted, but still earn some points where Visa is accepted. As it includes an AmEx card, you get access to AmEx Connect, which gives you access to lots of money-off offers using the card.

You get an additional cardholder for free, so your partner or child can help you earn points.

The annual fee is a little steep, but if they have an offer on it can be free for the first year.

All my purchases go on it

Reviewed and recommended by Brooke on 04 Jul 2016

The annual fee is $250 per annum. In essence, all my purchases go on it and I get points. The earn rate for points is reasonable. The American Express makes it more costly in most cases due to a surcharge. It is a good card to have for booking travel, as the insurances are worthwhile.

Decent mainstream option

Reviewed and not recommended by Guy on 26 Jun 2016

I’ve got most of the equivalent cards from the other main banks and settled with this one, due to a slightly lower annual fee. They all seem pretty much them same to me, however. Complimentary travel insurance (which all similar cards offer) has been useful.

I am planning to change to a bank with more environmental conscience soon, and will discontinue this card.

Fantastic card

Reviewed and recommended by N/A on 05 Sep 2014

These cards are great. I have a banking package, which includes them. They earn me frequent flyer points, which accumulate quickly as I use the cards for all purchases. My Mastercard is equipped with payWave, which is a great tool and makes transactions so much quicker. The interest free period works great for me as I pay them off monthly, so they are basically free to use. The bank gives fantastic support and easy internet banking. I would be lost without them.

Rewards plus insurance plus concierge service

Reviewed and recommended by Annie on 31 Oct 2016

The rewards program for the NAB Qantas platinum credit card is amazing, covering international and domestic travel insurance with great coverage, also with concierge service with great helpful staff always there when you need their help, and a buyer’s insurance program to look after me after buying appliances by extending my warranty.

Efficient and speedy recording of transactions

Reviewed and recommended by Dennis on 02 Nov 2016

This card is outstanding. Transactions are recorded and displayed instantly, so I always know where I am at. It takes as little as five minutes for my early morning coffee to register on my statement. Unlike another bank, who would take days for transactions to appear — even through the week — but funds would already be gone, making keeping track of where you are at impossible.

Great rewards just for paying all the bills

Reviewed and recommended by J on 20 Nov 2016

This combined Visa and AmEx credit card will let you get some excellent rewards from the Qantas frequent flyer program. Utilise the cards properly by using the AmEx whenever you can to get more points, and using the Visa card for everything else.

The yearly fee is easily covered by making all of your everyday purchases, and provided you have the self-discipline to always pay off your card in full you will reap the benefits. Use your points for flights or in exchange for products or gift cards. It works well for me.

Great for Qantas points

Reviewed and recommended by Nadine on 08 Dec 2016

You get double Qantas points on all purchases, and if you pay the balance on time each month you don’t have to worry about interest rates.

It’s easily linked to my everyday NAB account, and i’ve accumulated more points than ever before, using this card.

The yearly fee is expensive at $250, but i have got that value back, and more, through free flights.

Good rewards and travel insurance

Reviewed and recommended by Jay on 21 Sep 2016

It is a good card with rewards for customers. Since it is a Qantas card there are points for all eligible purchases.

It’s easily accessible. I got this card along with my home loan through NAB. There is no annual fee for the life of the loan. I also get travel insurance if it’s used to pay for airfares.

QFF points, insurance, and temporary block option

Reviewed and recommended by Jasmine on 06 May 2017

The account has both AmEx and Visa cards attached. AmEx earns higher points and Visa is there for when Amex is not accepted. I have had no issues with points. They go into my Qantas Frequent Flyer Account quickly. The card also has international travel insurance.

I was recently able to put a temporary block on the card (using internet banking) when the card was lost (as I was sure it was at home somewhere) and then remove the block online once I located the card.

Show 10 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
N/A
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 44 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
N/A

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers4.99% p.a.6 monthsN/A90% of credit limit21.74% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
90% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the NAB Qantas Rewards Premium Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • NAB

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers4.99% p.a.6 monthsN/A90% of credit limit 21.74% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.81% 21.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.67% 19.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$250 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$5
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$5

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Earn rates

Spend typeSpend
Airline spend
Up to $3,000
1 pt per $1.50 spent
$3,001 to $6,000
0.5 pts per $1 spent
ResetN/A
Points cap6,000

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
25,000 points
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer
Spend required for bonus points
$2,500 in 60 days

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
1 pt per $1.50 spent up to $3,000 then 0.5 pts per $1 spent $3,001 to $6,000
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
6,000
Points cap per year
72,000
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
0.5 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,476

SecurityEstimated value
Secure Sentinel lost or stolen card service
Valuation based on Secure Sentinel's membership fee spread over 5 years.
$17
Shopping
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Domestic hotel burglary insurance
Valuation based on making a $500 claim once every 5 years. Limited to a maximum claim of $2,500. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$100
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years.
$18
Total estimated value$1,476
Annual fee$250
Net customer value$1,226
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Austudy, Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Foster Care Allowance are acceptable.
Youth Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: