Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card
Apply by 31 jan 18
42 reviews
80,000 points when you spend $5,000 after a first eligible purchase in the first 90 days.
2 complimentary passes per year to use at over 700 VIP Priority Pass airport lounges worldwide.
$250 first year annual fee (save $145 in the first year).
Add to comparison
Altitude Rewards
Altitude Rewards
0.625 pts
per $1 spent
80,000
points
after spend criteria

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Earn 80,000 points bonus Altitude Rewards points or Qantas Points when you spend $5000 on eligible purchases on your new Card within the first 90 days of Card Membership.
Earn up to 1.25 Altitude points per $1 spent.
Earn up to 0.625 Qantas points per $1 spent.
$250 first year annual fee (save $145 in the first year).
24/7 Altitude Black Card Priority Service line.
Redeem Altitude points through Altitude Black Travel Service or convert your points into Virgin Australia’s Velocity, Malaysia Airline’s Enrich, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer, Cathay Pacific AsiaMiles.
2 complimentary passes per year to use at over 700 VIP Priority Pass airport lounges worldwide.
2 complimentary Qantas Lounge invitations per year after your first Altitude Black Card spend on selected Qantas products and services.
2 complimentary American Express Sydney international Airport lounge passes.
The $250 p.a. annual fee is considerable but has been reduced from $395 p.a. until 31st Jan 2018 for new cards only.
  • Please note: All Westpac-issued American Express Cards will close in April 2018.

User reviews

4.1 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews93% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

A solid offering with good rewards and insurance

Reviewed and recommended by Sarah on 12 Dec 2016

It’s a good card to have if you have a Premier Advantage Home Loan package with Westpac, as the fees are already paid for in the Advantage Package fees.

It’s a reasonable offering for complimentary travel insurance. Rewards are reasonable, although you may wish to switch to Velocity Membership points when there is a promotional period on.

Worth it for the rewards... maybe?

Reviewed and recommended by Susan on 05 Sep 2014

I use this card for the convenience in that it is linked to my home loan account. I find it very helpful in terms of the fact that I am easily able to book accommodation using points accrued. I also think the Black Card Helpline is an example of particularly good service. However, I am not impressed by the amount of fees I have to pay.

Good rewards system

Reviewed and recommended by Jonno on 11 Dec 2016

This credit card has a great feature in that it allows you to also redeem cash back on purchases using the points that you have available on the card. The items available for purchase using the card are also unique and are quite compelling and make me use my card so I can gain points!

Good card for accruing points and getting rewarded

Reviewed and recommended by Jacquie on 28 Jul 2015

Westpac Altitude Black Credit Cards offer you dual credit cards on one easy to read monthly account statement. A MasterCard and an American Express card to help you earn Altitude points faster. With Altitude Rewards, you get rewarded for doing your everyday shopping throughout the year. These points can be easily converted into shopping gift vouchers, which is great at Christmas time. Furthermore, you have the peace of mind that you’re dealing with a trusted brand with great customer service.

This card gives me wings

Reviewed and recommended by Kerryanne Kelly on 21 Jul 2015

These cards have attitude. They allow me to use them for every purchase everywhere so my points can fly me to anywhere. I don’t have an annual fee while it’s connected to my mortgage and it has complimentary travel insurance.

It should offer more points though because not all retailers accept AmEx.

Generally a good card

Reviewed and recommended by Oscar on 29 Oct 2014

This is a good and easy card to use. The rewards are quite good and you get extra points if you use their Bonus Partners or the American Express. The only problem is that a lot of merchants don’t except the AmEx or charge extra for it. The points never run out so can be used indefinitely, which is good, and there are a lot of different options for cashing out such as products, gift vouchers, and flights. The statement is straightforward and easy to understand.

The card I save with

Reviewed and recommended by Glenys on 05 Jul 2016

I have a Westpac Earth Black MasterCard and I could not be happier with everything they have provided me. Immediately I pay a fee, but I think the benefits gained outweigh the fees. I also receive a number of enticing offers each year. A good card from a trusted bank, and one I would thoroughly recommend.

Some cons but more pros

Reviewed and recommended by Phil on 21 Oct 2016

CON:
$395 annual fee. Rewards are pretty standard compared to the other big banks. AmEx Velocity (annual fee $349) is better — free domestic flight anywhere plus points, insurance etc)

PRO:
If I need to speak to a customer rep it is easy (direct phone line).
3 points to the dollar on AmEx, 1.25 points to the dollar on MasterCard. As a family we rack up points quickly, and convert them to fuel and Woolies cards
I’ve had 2 non-authorised transactions in the past, but Westpac was quick to review and rectify.

Banking with the best

Reviewed and recommended by Jules on 05 Sep 2014

For customer service and a quality brand with a great reputation who you trust completely, Westpac is where to bank. Whenever I need to call, whether for my mortgage, credit card or something miscellaneous, the staff is responsive, helpful and knowledgeable. I feel looked after with Westpac and confident about who’s handling my money! And with everything handled in Australia, I like knowing that Westpac is helping many Australians and helping build a better Australia.

Saved on balance transfer, earned lots of rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Huan Ling Winnie on 29 Apr 2017

I saved lots of money by using the 0% balance transfer offer. I transferred another bank credit card balance to my Westpac black card.

I also earned lots of rewards points by using the card to pay bills and for shopping.

I got the card as part of my home loan package, so I don’t have to pay an annual fee of $395 again.

Show 32 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Black
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Good
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$75,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$15,000
Maximum credit limit
$75,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 45 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.73% 20.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$250 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$395 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$9
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$15
Overseas ATM balance fee
N/A
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
N/A
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
N/A
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
80,000 points
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards
Spend required for bonus points
$5,000 in 90 days

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points (AmEx)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (MasterCard)
0.625 pts per $1 spent
Overseas earn rate (AmEx)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (MasterCard)
1.25 pts per $1 spent
Points cap per month (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per month (MasterCard)
Unlimited
Points cap per year (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per year (MasterCard)
Unlimited
Points earned on ATO payments (AmEx)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (MasterCard)
N/A
Reward points (AmEx)
N/A
Reward points (MasterCard)
1.25 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
Yes
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,391

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Rental vehicle excess cover (separate from travel insurance)
Valuation based on similar rental vehicle excess insurance policies available online.
$32
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years. Note that this benefit does not apply if cardholder chooses Altitude Rewards rather than Qantas Frequent Flyer points.
$18
Total estimated value$1,391
Annual fee$250
Net customer value$1,141
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $75,000 per year
Have a good credit history
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Overseas Pension is not acceptable.
Austudy, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments, Foster Care Allowance and Youth Allowance are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: