Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card Online Only Offer

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
NEW
Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card Online Only Offer
Apply by 28 mar 18
42 reviews
80,000 points when you spend $5,000 within the first 90 days of card approval.
2 complimentary passes per year to use at over 700 VIP Priority Pass airport lounges worldwide.
$250 first year annual fee (save $145 in the first year).
Add to comparison
Altitude RewardsQantas Frequent Flyer
Altitude Rewards or Qantas Frequent Flyer
0.625 pts
per $1 spent
80,000
points
after spend criteria

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

80,000 points when you spend $5,000 within the first 90 days of card approval.
Earn up to 1.25 Altitude points per $1 spent.
Earn up to 0.625 Qantas points per $1 spent.
$250 first year annual fee (save $145 in the first year).
24/7 Altitude Black Card Priority Service line.
Redeem Altitude points through Altitude Black Travel Service or convert your points into Virgin Australia’s Velocity, Malaysia Airline’s Enrich, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer, Cathay Pacific AsiaMiles.
2 complimentary passes per year to use at over 700 VIP Priority Pass airport lounges worldwide.
2 complimentary Qantas Lounge invitations per year after your first Altitude Black Card spend on selected Qantas products and services.
The $250 p.a. annual fee is considerable but has been reduced from $395 p.a.
  • Please note: All Westpac-issued American Express Cards will close in April 2018.

Our review

Our review of the Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card Online Only OfferReviewed by Yvonne Taylor

Westpac’s credit card designers were certainly at the top of their game when they came up with the Westpac Altitude Black Credit Card Online Only Offer, which neatly packages most of the features that any credit card user could ask for, even though it comes with the usual hefty fee for a black credit card (discounted, however, in the first year). If you choose this card, you’ll want to hang around for at least a year to make the most of the multiple benefits, including choice of rewards, high points earning rates coupled with substantial bonus points, and a suite of complimentary benefits.

Qantas or Altitude points? Take your pick.

Qantas frequent flyers can choose to earn QFF points, while anyone can opt for Westpac Altitude Rewards and redeem points for a range of consumer products, entertainment and travel, financial services and shopping gift cards, or even put them towards the purchase price of a new Holden. While you usually get a far greater dollar value from QFF points, Altitude points have the advantage of offering a larger range of redemption options, including converting them to points with Altitude’s partner airlines, which include Virgin Australia, Malaysian Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Air New Zealand and Cathay Pacific.

Your points choice is not set in concrete, because you can switch between the two rewards programs as often as you like. Just remember to allow a few days for the change to be processed, and bear in mind that the points already earned cannot be transferred between programs.

You can also set up auto-redemption for Virgin Australia Velocity points, automatically receiving one Velocity point in exchange for every two Altitude points you earn.

Westpac’s highest points earning rate, uncapped

Here are the points earning rates:

*0.625 pts per $1 spent * or 1.25 pts per $1 spent per dollar spent

While the Qantas points earn rate is not as high as that of some competing cards, it does have the advantage of being unrestricted by any points cap or threshold. Earn as many Qantas or Altitude points as you like, every month.

'Golden hello’ bonus points

Effectively a sign-up reward, a whopping 80,000 points (QFF or Altitude, depending on your initial reward choice) will be credited to your account, as long as you spend a minimum of $5,000 in 90 days of account approval. That’s $1,000 per month, an achievable target for most people considering a black-tier credit card.

To give you an idea of what this is worth, 80,000 points will buy you around $285 worth of retail gift cards delivered electronically, while 60,000 QFF points is enough for a one-way economy flight to Europe or New York. Convert the Altitude points to Velocity, and the resulting 30,000 points could be used for almost four economy flights between Sydney and Melbourne (31,200 points).

First year annual fee reduction

Although the ongoing annual fee for this card is a high $395 p.a. in the first year of holding the card you will pay just $250 p.a. significantly reducing the cost of trying out the card to see if it is a good fit for you.

Almost every conceivable complementary benefit

This is the area where, on top of the high points earning rate, the card justifies its $395 p.a. annual fee after the first year. (Note that you can get an additional card free of charge, unlike similar cards which charge around $65 for every extra cardholder.)

The extensive, money-saving complementary benefits include:

  • Multi-trip overseas travel insurance for trips lasting up to six months, saving you at least $750 a year for a family policy. Activate the cover by using the card for at least $500 of each trip’s prepaid expenses.
  • Purchase security insurance, providing four months of loss, theft or accidental damage cover against goods purchased with the card (better than competing cards, which limit the cover to three months).
  • Extended warranty insurance of up to 24 months on card purchases (again, an improvement on competitors’ 12 months maximum extended warranty).
  • Price guarantee cover. Price difference refunded if you find a recent purchase advertised at a lower price in a printed store catalogue within 21 days.
  • Interstate flight inconvenience cover for delays, cancellation, luggage loss or damage.
  • Rental car excess cover, overseas and in Australia.
  • Transport accident cover, providing cash compensation in the event of a serious accident sustained on public transport or a commercial airline .
  • Two free Qantas or Priority Pass airport lounge passes, every year.
  • Westpac’s 24/7 concierge service for assistance with travel, entertainment and restaurant information, recommendations and bookings. There’s also a Black Card Concierge app.
  • Waived QFF joining fee for the primary cardholder, if not already a member.
  • Altitude Black Card Priority Service telephone line

That’s quite a list, and it not only matches but in many cases exceeds the benefits offered with other black cards.

Interest rates

Anyone interested in a top-of-the-range card like this is unlikely to be concerned by the card’s interest rates, since they probably plan to pay off their purchase balance in full every month. But for the record, the purchases interest rate is 20.24% p.a. while the cash advance interest rate is slightly higher at 20.74% p.a.

Competing black cards

If you’re in the market for a black card, you’ll need to compare Westpac’s offerings with ANZ Rewards Black and ANZ Frequent Flyer Black cards, as well as the Citi Prestige card.

Westpac Altitude Black is designed for . . .

. . . someone who wants it all and can afford to pay for it, but still expects top value per dollar spent: a choice of Altitude Rewards or QFF points, a high points earning rate, bonus points, airport lounges passes and free insurance cover that’s better in many respects than the cover provided by competing cards.

User reviews

4.1 out of 5.0 based on 42 reviews93% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Great rewards and service

Reviewed and recommended by Greg on 26 Apr 2017

This is a very good card with great rewards.

They give very good service with enquiries answered in Australia. Their website is very good and easy to use. They are there to help 24/7, and do help if you need them.

They give reward points quickly and have great rewards.

Happy with service

Reviewed and recommended by Maureen on 21 Sep 2016

We try to use our credit card for more purchases, for security and convenience and so we can budget our expenses each month.

The interest we try not to use so we attempt to pay the full balance each month, to our advantage.

We’re happy with statements and services from Westpac in relations to this card.

A solid offering with good rewards and insurance

Reviewed and recommended by Sarah on 12 Dec 2016

It’s a good card to have if you have a Premier Advantage Home Loan package with Westpac, as the fees are already paid for in the Advantage Package fees.

It’s a reasonable offering for complimentary travel insurance. Rewards are reasonable, although you may wish to switch to Velocity Membership points when there is a promotional period on.

More points with the AmEx card

Reviewed and recommended by David on 11 Oct 2016

I tend to use the American Express card more than the MasterCard because of the accumulation of points — not that I have ever redeemed any points, but I have accumulated a great many in the hope of one day redeeming them.

Most of my purchases are made online, so the card is convenient. I don’t like carrying lots of cash, so in store the card is convenient.

Some cons but more pros

Reviewed and recommended by Phil on 21 Oct 2016

CON:
$395 annual fee. Rewards are pretty standard compared to the other big banks. AmEx Velocity (annual fee $349) is better — free domestic flight anywhere plus points, insurance etc)

PRO:
If I need to speak to a customer rep it is easy (direct phone line).
3 points to the dollar on AmEx, 1.25 points to the dollar on MasterCard. As a family we rack up points quickly, and convert them to fuel and Woolies cards
I’ve had 2 non-authorised transactions in the past, but Westpac was quick to review and rectify.

Great card

Reviewed and recommended by Russ on 24 Jun 2016

We transferred our card from another lender and got a great balance transfer deal. The rewards program is awesome with 2 card options to maximise points. The interest rate is good and as long as you pay on time you have no issues. A decent payment and interest-free period gives you great control over your budget.

Good communication from the bank

Reviewed and not recommended by Clem on 21 Sep 2016

I’m happy with the way things work for me with this card. The Interest rate is good with days to pay, so I don’t have to pay the full amount each month.

The bank is good with communications and updates and statements on a regular basis.

The card is accepted at most places that I shop.

Love the rewards and service

Reviewed and recommended by Michelle on 04 Apr 2017

My hubby worked for Westpac, so we’re not paying fees. I love the rewards they offer, including vouchers and so much else to choose from.

Whenever I need help I ring the help desk and always get a prompt solution from a representative.

Cards are always replaced quickly if lost. Whenever we had fraudulent transactions they always rang to make sure everything was OK.

Good for tracking spending

Reviewed and recommended by Judy on 22 Sep 2016

I had very good customer service when my card was scammed. I was reimbursed very quickly, and new cards were issued within a couple of days. Westpac knew I was scammed before I knew! Very diligent!

I would certainly recommend this card from Westpac bank, and I couldn’t live without it as I use it for nearly all my transactions so that I can keep an account of my spending.

Travel insurance, plus points to swap for goods

Reviewed and recommended by Chris on 30 Nov 2016

The card is good, with a low interest rate and good perks like Altitude points and travel insurance. It’s good for travel insurance when you use the card for booking tickets to go overseas. Plus you get Altitude points to buy other stuff also, like toasters, iPads, computers, kitchenware, TVs and hi-fi equipment.

Show 32 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Black
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Good
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$75,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards or Qantas Frequent Flyer
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$15,000
Maximum credit limit
$75,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 45 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.73% 20.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$250 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$395 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$9
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$15
Overseas ATM balance fee
N/A
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
N/A
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
N/A
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
80,000 points
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards or Qantas Frequent Flyer
Spend required for bonus points
$5,000 in 90 days

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
0.625 pts per $1 spent
Overseas earn rate
1.25 pts per $1 spent
Points cap per month
Unlimited
Points cap per year
Unlimited
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
1.25 pts per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
Yes
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,391

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Guaranteed pricing / price protection insurance
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $100 claim once every 10 years. Extensive conditions apply. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$10
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Interstate flight inconvenience insurance
Valuation based on similar domestic travel insurance policies available online that include interstate flight inconvenience.
$290
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Rental vehicle excess cover (separate from travel insurance)
Valuation based on similar rental vehicle excess insurance policies available online.
$32
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years. Note that this benefit does not apply if cardholder chooses Altitude Rewards rather than Qantas Frequent Flyer points.
$18
Total estimated value$1,391
Annual fee$250
Net customer value$1,141
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $75,000 per year
Have a good credit history
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Overseas Pension is not acceptable.
Austudy, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments, Foster Care Allowance and Youth Allowance are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: