Westpac Altitude Credit Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Westpac Altitude Credit Card
Apply by 31 jan 18
26 reviews
Get up to $20 off every 3rd Uber ride on your new Altitude card. (up to a maximum of $250 in free rides).
2 cards linked to 1 account means you can earn more points.
Earn up to 1 Altitude point per $1 spent.
Add to comparison
Altitude QantasAltitude Rewards
Altitude Qantas or Altitude Rewards
0.5 pts
per $1 spent capped (Qantas)
-

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Get up to $20 off every 3rd Uber ride on your new Altitude card. (up to a maximum of $250 in free rides).
2 cards linked to 1 account means you can earn more points.
Earn up to 1 Altitude point per $1 spent.
Earn up to 0.5 Qantas points per $1 spent.
Redeem points on a choice of top airlines.
Added security with SecureCode for online purchases.
Chosen as Money Magazine’s “Best Rewards Credit Card”.
High annual fee.
Qantas Points are capped at 2,500 per month.
  • Please note: All Westpac-issued American Express Cards will close in April 2018.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 26 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

An average card with average rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Nigel on 19 Jun 2016

This card came with my mortgage and I have stayed with it because it is free as I pay off the outstanding balance in full every month. However, the rewards are 'expensive’ and they could do with revamping them. I like being able to pay off the card balance every month via internet banking.

Transparent rewards system backed by good service

Reviewed and recommended by Shane on 31 Oct 2016

I’d appreciate more opportunities to earn points, but the system is clear and easy to understand, and redeeming points online is simple and straightforward.

The phone-based customer support is always top notch, in my experience, and I’ve found the staff to be helpful. I think having the support of good staff makes up for the slightly less competitive rates and fees.

I mainly use the card as an emergency backup, and so trust in the system is my biggest priority.

Great rewards

Reviewed and recommended by George on 24 Jun 2016

Great rewards program and it’s easy to collect enough points to redeem for something in a short time. Rates and fees are reasonable. Westpac online is easy for checking your usage and tracking where your hard earned cash is going. I love the ability to lock your card online anytime you wish and unlock as many times as you wish.

Good rewards, but expensive

Reviewed and recommended by Angie on 24 Jul 2013

This has been a good card, accepted everywhere, and the rewards points are gained easily. However, the credit card fee of $100 is quite high. I guess that’s how you pay for your rewards! I have my savings account linked to it, which is handy, so it’s two cards in one.

Not all rewards are equal

Reviewed and recommended by Kathy on 26 Sep 2016

I found I am better off buying vouchers with my points than I am purchasing items in the online rewards store. You can get vouchers then negotiate better prices in stores. Do not cash in your points, as the money is way less than if you get value in vouchers.

Overall was happy with the service

Reviewed and recommended by Nevyl Doust on 21 Oct 2013

Other than the high interest rate that is really in-excuseable, I have been happy with the service, extra credit when needed and rapid response to a PayPal/Ebay hack problem. Also the staff at Tamworth and Armidale branches have been wonderful, and the fully secure internet banking is simple to use and reliable.

No annual fees ever

Reviewed and recommended by Christina on 21 Aug 2016

Love this card. I’ve had it for many years. The rewards are awesome and no annual fees mean you can spend money on things that matter. Westpac is a bank that is standing up to its name. I have nothing but great things to say about them and what they represent.

Costs too much

Reviewed and not recommended by Peter on 24 Sep 2016

Just another credit card that charges you interest and is another fund raiser for the bank. You will get charged loads of interest every time you buy something and then get charged extra every year just to have the card. Get one if you want everything you buy to cost you three times more than the asking price.

Not the best out there

Reviewed and recommended by Dave on 10 Sep 2014

$100 annual fee a bit over the top just to have a credit card. I’ve had late payment fees even though I pay it in full every month. Rewards program is ok, but cant get Qantas points from the rewards points. Security is good – prompt phone call from suspicious transactions.

Overall pleased with the card

Reviewed and recommended by Tania on 02 Jul 2016

I initially got this card as Westpac was the provider of the Defence Home Loan. I keep my limit at $1,000 as I believe this is more than ample for day-to-day spending and paying off bills automatically. The interest rates on both purchases and cash advances are horrendous as the cash rate at this time is under 5%. I do not know how a rate of 21% on this card can be justified, but at the end of the day it serves its purpose.

Show 16 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$30,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Altitude Qantas or Altitude Rewards
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$30,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 45 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfersN/AN/AN/A95% of credit limit N/A
Purchases0% p.a.6 monthsN/AN/A 20.24% p.a.

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.73% 20.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$100 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$9
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$15
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$2.50
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Altitude Qantas or Altitude Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points (AmEx)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (Visa)
0.5 pts per $1 spent (Qantas)
Overseas earn rate (AmEx)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (Visa)
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per month (Visa)
2,500 Qantas
Points cap per year (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per year (Visa)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (AmEx)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (Visa)
N/A
Reward points (AmEx)
N/A
Reward points (Visa)
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
No

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $18

TravelEstimated value
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years. Note that this benefit does not apply if cardholder chooses Altitude Rewards rather than Qantas Frequent Flyer points.
$18
Total estimated value$18
Annual fee$100
Net customer value$-82
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $30,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Overseas Pension is not acceptable.
Austudy, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments, Foster Care Allowance and Youth Allowance are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: