Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
offer
card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
your savings
Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card
APPLY BY 31 jan 18
27 reviews
Get a $100 Woolworths eGift Card when you apply by 31st Jan 2018 and make an eligible purchase by 28th Feb 2018.
$0 p.a. for the first year, saving you $49 p.a.
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 14 months.
Add to comparison
14 months
0% p.a.
then 21.99%
19.99% p.a.
ongoing
$0
1st year
then $49
 
saved over 14 months plus these benefits

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Get a $100 Woolworths eGift Card when you apply by 31st Jan 2018 and make an eligible purchase by 28th Feb 2018.
$0 p.a. for the first year, saving you $49 p.a.
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 14 months.
Up to 55 days on purchases to help you cashflow your monthly expenses.
You won’t be held responsible for fraudulent charges or unauthorised purchases made with the Visa Zero Liability Policy.
Earn 3 points per $1 spent on Woolworths Select products.
Earn 2 points per $1 spent on purchases at Woolworths Supermarkets, Thomas Dux, Dan Murphy’s, Cellarmasters, EziBuy, BWS, BIG W, Masters and Caltex Woolworths.
Earn a base rate of 1 pt per $1 spent everywhere Visa is accepted.
Comes with Apple Pay.
Interest rate of 19.99% p.a. on purchases is quite high.
Rewards are automatically redeemed every four months which may be restrictive or inconvenient.

Review

Our review of the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

Woolworths wants to make sure the loyalty of their customers is rusted on, by offering them a low cost credit card with lots of useful-sounding benefits, especially if they use it to buy Woolworths-branded products at Woolworths group stores. It sounds like a good deal for both parties, but it warrants investigating a little more closely, to make sure you are getting the value you expected.

Low annual fee

There’s no denying the annual fee – $0 p.a. for the first year and $49 p.a. in the years thereafter – is good value when compared with many other cards. There’s a $9 charge per additional cardholder, again after the first year.

Long interest-free balance transfer period

14 months at 0% (reverting to the cash advance rate of 21.99% p.a. thereafter) is not as long as that being offered by a few other cards (up to 24 months) but it does out-do the six months obtainable with Coles credit cards on offer. So it probably achieves its purpose of tempting Coles customers to transfer not only their balance but their shopping habits as well.

The ongoing interest rate for purchases is 19.99% p.a., with an interest-free period of up to 55 days.

Rigid rewards scheme

Make no mistake: the purpose of this rewards scheme is to make you shop at Woollies. You earn more points (Woolworths Money Shopping Card Rewards) by shopping at Woolworths group retailers and buying Woolworths branded products, and you can redeem your points for – wait for it – shopping cards to spend at Woolworths group retailers only.

Here’s how it works:

  • 1 point per $1 for purchases from retailers not in the Woolworths group
  • 2 points per $1 for purchases from retailers in the Woolworths group
  • 3 points per $1 for buying Woolworths Select (their own brand) products or Woolworths Mobile products in store at Woolworths, Big W and BWS

The Woolworths group companies are Woolworths supermarkets, Big W, Thomas Dux, Dan Murphy’s, Cellarmasters, Masters Home Improvement, Woolworths branded Caltex service stations, Woolworths Liquor, BWS and Ezibuy.

Calculating the value of the rewards points

Woolworths will convert your points into shopping cards once every four months (again, no choice) at the rate of $20 per 4,000 points.

So, supposing you used your card exclusively at Woolworths group stores, you’d need to spend $2,000 to get 4,000 points redeemable for a $20 discount, an effective loyalty discount of 1%. Not great. Most cardholders are likely to have a mixture of 1, 2 and (probably minimal) 3-point spending, resulting in an effective discount of a lot less than 1%.

There’s no monthly points earning cap with this card, but no ‘welcome’ points on first purchase either.

Other cardholder benefits

The rather uninspiring value of rewards points is fortunately offset by a long list of other benefits available to cardholders:

  • 10% discount on a range of Woolworths brand insurances: car, home, pet and travel insurance.
  • 50% off selected Cellarmasters wine cases.
  • 15% off movie and TV rentals at HOYTS kiosks.
  • Discount wine and free delivery from online wine merchant WineMarket
  • 5% discount at Thomas Dux during the first weekend of every month.
  • Membership of Dine Play Stay program, offering 20% discount (maximum deduction $25) at 2,000 restaurants, 10-50% discount at selected hotels, motels and resorts, and savings on magazine subscriptions, flowers, gift baskets, travel insurance, dry cleaning and more.
  • It’s a Visa Platinum card, giving you access to the Visa concierge for restaurant, travel and entertainment recommendations and bookings.
  • It comes with Visa Luxury Hotel Collection membership, including room upgrade, late checkout, complimentary continental breakfast, $25 food or beverage voucher and free in-room internet

Once again, many of these discount offers are linked to Woolworths group companies, but there’s no denying there are substantial savings to be made if you direct your spending their way.

A card best for…

There’s no doubt that the Woolworths Everyday Money Credit Card is going to appeal to people who already do most of their grocery shopping at Woolworths and refuel at Caltex using fuel discount vouchers. The credit card even doubles as an Everyday Rewards card, meaning there’s one less card to carry in your wallet. But are there enough benefits to seduce a Coles customer to switch to Woolworths? Is it appealing to regular customers of IGA or ALDI? Only you can decide.

User reviews

3.6 out of 5.0 based on 27 reviews89% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

Good for Woolies customers

Reviewed and recommended by Shane on 04 Dec 2016

If your weekly spend is mostly at Woolworths companies, then this card is worthwhile. There’s a good website and the mobile app is very good and can track egiftcard balances, which you can easily buy at 5%+ discount through cashback sites. So all in all, for a $49 annual fee it is quite rewarding for relatively low spending people.

Easy-to-use rewards program and app

Reviewed and recommended by Laura on 26 Nov 2016

I have had the Woolies credit card for several years now. It has easy rewards — they just send a voucher out every four months. I can pay at any Woolies or pay via BPAY, but there are no points on using this card’s BPAY facility :(.

The actual card is black with green rim, so easy to find in my purse. It has an easy-to-use Android app and you can also use it for all Woolies group gift cards too.

I always pay off my balance so I have never experienced interest. I know it is high, around 24%. I also opted for the repayment protection insurance. My last balance was $1600 and the insurance premium around $9. The annual fee is $55. Overall, I’m happy with the card.

Handy gift card rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Helena on 22 Sep 2016

This card has a low annual fee which is not great, but it gives three times yearly gift card rewards, which are really handy.

It would be nice to have the option to make my monthly payment by cheque at the supermarket, but they will not accept it as a form of payment.

Excellent rewards add up to more than the fee

Reviewed and recommended by J on 21 Sep 2016

I have four other credit cards but this is my favourite one to use. Although there is a fee, because we do most of our shopping at Woollies the rewards gift cards we get in return for using the card add up to much more than the annual fee. Highly recommended.

Easy approval process

Reviewed and recommended by tabatha on 20 Sep 2016

This credit card has helped me out with bills so many times. It was easy to set up and i was approved for this card when i had been knocked back by other credit card companies. I have now had this card for five years and don’t need any other cards.

Convenient, easy to use

Reviewed and recommended by Steve on 20 Sep 2016

All rewards and offers from Woolworths are applied to the card, as are petrol vouchers. So there’s no need to carry around scraps of paper receipts, as I have to do with my Coles card.

I used it overseas without problems and it was accepted throughout every country in Europe we visited.

There is an annual fee, however the rewards for using the card easily outweigh the annual cost for us. Highly recommended.

Money saver, great app

Reviewed and recommended by Rosie on 16 Sep 2016

This card had a really good interest-free balance transfer offer. It was easy to apply for and I received the card quickly once approved. The staff are always helpful and polite when I ring to sort out any concerns I have.

There is an app available that allows easy access to current balance and allows viewing of spending, latest payments and statements.

Good rewards and sign-up bonus

Reviewed and recommended by Steve on 21 Aug 2016

Great if you use and pay off regularly, as it offers great points. Use it every day for your shopping fuel, etc, then pay off each month to maximise your points reward, There are good sign-up bonuses as well.

I recommend it for easy application — apply at your supermarket.

Interest rates are not the best. If after a low rate, look elsewhere for a better bargain

Savings and rewards are a big help

Reviewed and recommended by Julie on 02 Aug 2016

When using my card know I have secure spending and I get great rewards for using my card shopping at Woolworths. I am a little more than happy to see my card is getting value while i have a peace of mind. Online my card is protected, allowing me to shop at sites and have PayPal to help prevent fraud.

Poor rewards, high fees

Reviewed and not recommended by Sarah on 27 Jul 2016

I have a Woolworths credit card I have been trying to pay off for three years. They rope you in with high fees, poor response times to queries and false ideas about “reward points”. This essentially means that if you buy groceries on your Woolworths credit card, you will earn points that will be posted to you twice a year (after the customer rings five times because the card never arrives on time, if at all if you don’t chase them for it). You have to spend 10 times the dollar amount to receive points per transaction. Which I worked out means you essentially pay for your groceries on a Woolworths credit card, then pay interest each month. Plus there are extraordinary account fees and they will send you a $10-$20 'voucher” for spending triple that amount in the first place. My advice? PAY CASH!

Show 17 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Good
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$20,000
Minimum income for pensioners
N/A
Pensioners
Rewards program
Woolworths Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$9 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2.5%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.14 months0%100% except for $500 of credit limit21.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% except for $500 of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Macquarie Bank
  • Woolworths

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.14 months0%100% except for $500 of credit limit 21.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.67% 19.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$49 p.a.
Cash advance fee
3%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$35
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
N/A
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$2.50
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$50
Transaction verification fee
$10

Rewards

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Rewards program
Woolworths Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

ATO payment earns rewards
0 pts per $1 spent
Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
Unlimited
Points cap per year
Unlimited
Reward points
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
N/A
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $190

EntertainmentEstimated value
Free wine at restaurants or discounts at restaurants
Cardholders are enrolled into Woolworths DinePlayStay, which gives discount on hotel rack rates. Assumes 20% discount ($25 max.) from a long list of partner restaurants based on 6 visits per year and spending $125+ each time.
$150
Shopping
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Total estimated value$190
Annual fee$0
Net customer value$190
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $20,000 per year
Have a good credit history
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Disability Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Overseas Pension is not acceptable.
Austudy, Carer's Allowance, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments and Youth Allowance are acceptable.
Foster Care Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
as seen in
Compare these cards: