Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

What do you want this card for?
Save money
Earn points
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Apply
Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card
Apply by 30 jun 18
27 reviews
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
$0 annual fee for the first year, saving you $49 p.a.
Get a $50 Woolworths eGift Card when you apply by 30th June and make an eligible purchase by 31st July.
Add to comparison
14 months
0% p.a.
then 21.99%
19.99% p.a.
ongoing
$0
1st year
then $49

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Get a $50 Woolworths eGift Card when you apply by 30th June and make an eligible purchase by 31st July.
$0 annual fee for the first year, saving you $49 p.a.
0% p.a. on balance transfers for 14 months from card approval. Reverts to the standard variable cash advance rate currently 21.99% p.a.
10% off your first shop at Woolworths on selected dates each month.
Up to 55 days on purchases if your account is paid in full by the due date shown each month.
You won’t be held responsible for fraudulent charges or unauthorised purchases made with the Visa Zero Liability Policy.
Earn 3 points per $1 spent on Woolworths Select and Woolworths brand range of products.
Earn 2 points per $1 spent on purchases at Woolworths, Dan Murphy’s, Cellarmasters, BWS, and BIG W.
Earn a base rate of 1 pt per $1 spent on eligible transactions everywhere Visa is accepted.
Interest rate of 19.99% p.a. on purchases is quite high.
Rewards are automatically redeemed every four months which may be restrictive or inconvenient.

Our review

Our review of the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit CardReviewed by Yvonne Taylor

Woolworths wants to make sure the loyalty of their customers is rusted on, by offering them a low-cost credit card with lots of useful benefits, especially if they use it to buy Woolworths-branded products at Woolworths group stores. It’s called the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card. It sounds like a good deal for both parties, but it warrants investigating a little more closely, to make sure you are getting the value you expected.

Low annual fee

There’s no denying the annual fee – $0 for the first year and $49 thereafter – is good value when compared with many other cards. There’s a $9 charge per additional cardholder, again $0 in the first year.

Long interest-free balance transfer period

Fourteen months at 0% (reverting to the cash advance rate of 21.99% thereafter) is not as long as that being offered by a few other cards (up to 24 months) but it does top the six months obtainable with Coles credit cards. So it probably achieves its purpose of tempting Coles customers to transfer not only their balance but their shopping habits as well.

The ongoing interest rate for purchases is 19.99% (identical to Coles), with an interest-free period of up to 55 days.

Rigid rewards scheme

Make no mistake: the purpose of this rewards scheme is to make you shop at Woollies. You earn more points (Woolworths Shopping Card Rewards) by shopping at Woolworths group retailers and buying Woolworths branded products, and you can redeem your points for – wait for it – shopping cards to spend at Woolworths group retailers only.

Here’s how it works:

  • 1 point per $1 for purchases from retailers not in the Woolworths group
  • 2 points per $1 for purchases from retailers in the Woolworths group, including online
  • 3 points per $1 for buying Woolworths or Woolworths Select (i.e. their own brand) products in store at Woolworths, Big W and BWS

The Woolworths group companies (where you will earn 2.0 points per dollar) are Woolworths supermarkets, Big W, Dan Murphy’s, Cellarmasters, Woolworths branded Caltex service stations, and BWS (including online stores where available).

Credit card rewards points come in addition to standard Woolworths Rewards points

Most regular Woolworths shoppers will be aware that they can already earn Woolworths rewards points on their supermarket, BWS and Woolworths Caltex purchases, whichever payment method or card they use. So by using your Woolworths credit card you’ll earn points twice on each purchase at those Woolworths group retailers: once with your Woolworths Rewards card and once with your Woolworths credit card.

For added convenience, your Woolworths credit card doubles as your Woolworths Rewards card, with your Woolworths Rewards membership barcode printed on the back of your credit card. You will need to remember to scan your membership barcode before you complete your purchase by paying with your credit card.

Calculating the value of the rewards points

Woolworths will convert your points into shopping cards once every four months at the rate of $20 per 4,000 points.

So, supposing you used your card exclusively at Woolworths group stores, you’d need to spend $2,000 to get 4,000 points redeemable for a $20 discount, an effective loyalty discount of 1%. Most cardholders are likely to have a mixture of 1, 2 and (probably minimal) 3-point spending, resulting in an effective discount of a lot less than 1%.

There’s no monthly points earning cap with this card, so every dollar you spend on eligible purchases will earn points.

Convert Woolworths Rewards points to Qantas Frequent Flyer points

As a Woolworths Rewards member, you’ll be given the option to automatically convert your Woolworths Rewards points to Qantas Frequent Flyer points every three months. The current conversion rate is 2,000 Woolworths points = 870 QFF points.

$50 Woolworths eGift card currently on offer

For a limited time you can qualify for a $50 gift card to spend at Woolworths, the equivalent of first-purchase bonus points available with other types of rewards cards. The pleasing difference is that there’s no spending target to be met. Just apply for your new card before 31st January 2018 and make an eligible purchase of any amount with your card (even at Coles) by 28th February 2018.

Other cardholder benefits

The rather uninspiring value of Woolworths Rewards points is fortunately offset by a long list of other benefits available to cardholders:

  • 10% discount off your first shop once every month, on selected weekend dates advised to cardholders by email. (Maximum purchase amount $500.)
  • 10% discount on a range of Woolworths brand insurances: car, home, pet, landlord and travel insurance.
  • Complimentary purchase protection insurance: cover against theft or damage for items purchased with the card, for 90 days after purchase. (Excess $250 per claim.)
  • Complimentary Wallet Guard insurance, granting a lump sum payment of up to $500 to replace cash, valuable documents and personal effects if you are the victim of a violent theft of your wallet.
  • Visa concierge service. It’s a Visa Platinum card, giving you access to the Visa concierge for restaurant, travel and entertainment recommendations and bookings.
  • Complimentary Visa Luxury Hotel Collection membership, including room upgrade, late checkout, complimentary continental breakfast, $25 food or beverage voucher and free in-room internet.

Once again, some of these benefits are linked to Woolworths group companies, but there’s no denying there are substantial savings to be made if you direct your spending their way.

Competing cards

Wherever Woolworths goes, Coles will follow, and vice versa. If you’re a Coles regular you’re more likely to be interested in the Coles Rewards MasterCard (2.0 flybuys points per $1 spent). Since 2,000 flybuys ($1,000 spent) will get you $10 discount off your Coles shopping, this is more or less the same discount rate as Woolworths are offering. But the main difference is that the Coles card gives you 2.0 flybuys points per dollar wherever you shop, not just at Coles group companies. However, the annual fee for the Coles card is $99, more than twice as much as the ongoing fee for the Woolworths card.

A card best for…

There’s no doubt that the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card is going to appeal to people who already do most of their grocery shopping at Woolworths, Big W, BWS and Dan Murphy’s, collecting Woolworths or Qantas points and in some cases Caltex fuel discount vouchers. The credit card even doubles as a Woolworths Rewards card, meaning there’s one less card to carry in your wallet. But are there enough benefits to seduce Coles diehards? Only they can decide.

User reviews

3.6 out of 5.0 based on 27 reviews89% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

OK for getting rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Paul Mac on 19 Jun 2015

I don’t mind this card. I use it mainly to get the Everyday Rewards, which convert into Qantas points. My thoughts are I am gong to use it anyway, so I might as well get something on the backend. I pay it down every month so get the 55 days interest free, but still don’t like the annual fee.

May change to a Coles MasterCard as this gets you flybuys and has no annual fee. Total 3 out of 5 overall for me.

Handy gift card rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Helena on 22 Sep 2016

This card has a low annual fee which is not great, but it gives three times yearly gift card rewards, which are really handy.

It would be nice to have the option to make my monthly payment by cheque at the supermarket, but they will not accept it as a form of payment.

Woolworths everyday money

Reviewed and recommended by Helena on 03 Jul 2016

I have this card because it came with an interest-free period. I do really like the Woolworths gift cards that are mailed out 3 times a year with the amount based on a percentage of your total spend.

I am not happy with the $49 annual fee, though, as it seems excessive for a card with no added benefits like travel insurance, etc. I think I will keep it because of the simplicity of the rewards.

Excellent rewards add up to more than the fee

Reviewed and recommended by J on 21 Sep 2016

I have four other credit cards but this is my favourite one to use. Although there is a fee, because we do most of our shopping at Woollies the rewards gift cards we get in return for using the card add up to much more than the annual fee. Highly recommended.

Great all-in one-Woolworths money and rewards card

Reviewed and recommended by N on 20 Jul 2016

The Woolworths Money Rewards credit card is a great combination card for your weekly payment for groceries, petrol and bills. I like the convenience of having an all-in-one card for the petrol discount, rewards points for Woolworths, and automatic cash back/voucher sent to you when you have reached the rewards points target.

Easy to use

Reviewed and recommended by Nicole Skehan on 17 Jul 2015

It’s good how the card has the Everyday Rewards barcode on it. This makes it a lot easier to use. I haven’t had it for long, so it will be interesting to see if the barcode will wear of like it did on the rewards cards.

I like the Woolworths rewards card being sent quarterly as I use this as a food shop. This gives the weekly shop money to buy something we require, pay a bill, or just treat the family. This package doesn’t include an oversea exchange rate, which can be a pain with online shopping.

I have just changed to online accounts instead of paper. Now that I’m getting use to it, it seems easy enough to use and people friendly. I used the phone help line to get started. The lady who help me in the beginning was friendly and helpful.

Reasonably satisfied

Reviewed and recommended by Charlie K on 31 Mar 2014

I am satisfied generally with the level of service I shy away from conventional credit cards because my credit rating has slipped a little i like the use of credit cards a nd the means to know that transactions will go through i have purchased woolworths credit card and have found them to be reliable

Easy-to-use rewards program and app

Reviewed and recommended by Laura on 26 Nov 2016

I have had the Woolies credit card for several years now. It has easy rewards — they just send a voucher out every four months. I can pay at any Woolies or pay via BPAY, but there are no points on using this card’s BPAY facility :(.

The actual card is black with green rim, so easy to find in my purse. It has an easy-to-use Android app and you can also use it for all Woolies group gift cards too.

I always pay off my balance so I have never experienced interest. I know it is high, around 24%. I also opted for the repayment protection insurance. My last balance was $1600 and the insurance premium around $9. The annual fee is $55. Overall, I’m happy with the card.

Savings and rewards are a big help

Reviewed and recommended by Julie on 02 Aug 2016

When using my card know I have secure spending and I get great rewards for using my card shopping at Woolworths. I am a little more than happy to see my card is getting value while i have a peace of mind. Online my card is protected, allowing me to shop at sites and have PayPal to help prevent fraud.

Convenient, easy to use

Reviewed and recommended by Steve on 20 Sep 2016

All rewards and offers from Woolworths are applied to the card, as are petrol vouchers. So there’s no need to carry around scraps of paper receipts, as I have to do with my Coles card.

I used it overseas without problems and it was accepted throughout every country in Europe we visited.

There is an annual fee, however the rewards for using the card easily outweigh the annual cost for us. Highly recommended.

Show 17 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Good
Gambling transactions allowed
Yes
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$30,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Yes
Rewards program
Woolworths Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
4
Additional card fee
$9 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
N/A

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
Greater of $50 or 2.5%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.14 months0%100% less $500 of credit limit21.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
N/A
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
Up to 5 business days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% less $500 of credit limit
Available to existing customers
N/A

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Woolworths

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers0% p.a.14 months0%100% less $500 of credit limit 21.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.67% 19.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$49 p.a.
Cash advance fee
Greater of $5 or 3%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$35
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
N/A
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$5 or 3% whichever is greater
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
N/A

Rewards & points

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
N/A
Reward points expiry
Rewards program
Woolworths Rewards
Sign up bonus
N/A
Spend required for bonus points
N/A

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points
N/A
Overseas earn rate
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month
Unlimited
Points cap per year
Unlimited
Points earned on ATO payments
N/A
Reward points
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $190

EntertainmentEstimated value
Free wine at restaurants or discounts at restaurants
Cardholders are enrolled into Woolworths DinePlayStay, which gives discount on hotel rack rates. Assumes 20% discount ($25 max.) from a long list of partner restaurants based on 6 visits per year and spending $125+ each time.
$150
Shopping
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Total estimated value$190
Annual fee$0
Net customer value$190
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $30,000 per year
Have a good credit history
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards: