Bankwest Zero MasterCard

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
Pay no annual fee as long as you hold the card.
2.99% p.a. for 9 months on balances transferred.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Add to comparison
9 months
2.99% p.a.
then 17.99%
17.99% p.a.
ongoing
$0
ongoing
 
saved over 9 months
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Pay no annual fee as long as you hold the card.
2.99% p.a. for 9 months on balance transfers for new customers.
Up to 55 days on purchases.
Add up to 3 additional cards at no extra cost.
Free worldwide emergency card replacement.
Pay faster using MasterCard PayPass.
There is a cash advance rate of 21.99% p.a.

User reviews

3.3 out of 5.0 based on 13 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Excessive security

Reviewed and recommended by Sarah on 21 Sep 2016

I chose this credit card because it has no annual fee and I am still very happy with that feature.

The interest rate is high (21%) and there are no rewards whatsoever.

Bankwest’s security is excessive. Twice I have had my card cancelled without any warning or communication, leaving me with no card for some days. They claim they are cancelling it because my card was used to purchase something at a business, within the last five years, that has since been linked to possible hacking problems. I’m sick of having my card cancelled without any discussion with me. I think I should have a say in whether I want my card to be cancelled or not, depending on what actually happened to trigger the call to me.

Good credit card for basic use

Reviewed and recommended by Hayley on 01 Jul 2016

I applied for this card to cover sudden expenses. I don’t need to use it very often, but their customer service is very good and when you do need to use it, it’s easy.

I would definitely recommend Bankwest and this card to anybody. Having recently transferred from Commonwealth and ING to Bankwest, I’m glad I made the transfer. A++ from me.

Cheap card, no hidden fees

Reviewed and recommended by Darren on 23 Sep 2016

Good, all-purpose card, with excellent customer service if needed. I have had it for a number of years and am yet to have any problems with it.

I would like the interest rate to drop in line with the Reserve Bank rate, but I can’t see any bank doing this.

There are no hidden fees, and everything is spelled out clearly.

Pretty happy overall

Reviewed and recommended by Alira on 02 Jul 2016

I have been pretty happy with this card. I don’t have anything negative to say about it at this stage. The sixty day interest-free period is very beneficial to us. I originally got this card when I opened a home loan account with Bankwest. We have retained the card since then because we are very good at paying the balance on time, and it helps us to make online purchases and pay bills. We have been able to increase the limit a few times. We don’t have reason to change cards or providers at this stage.

Generally pleased with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Julie on 27 Oct 2013

I have a Bankwest Zero Mastercard because I have always banked with Bankwest since I was a teenager. Although on the whole the credit card is good it should have flybuys or something added to it to promote better offers.
I would also like to have more access on the online app for my own account to transfer money and pay bills, I used to be able to do this but now cannot.

No frills - just what I want

Reviewed and recommended by Mel on 16 Nov 2016

Like the title states, I want a credit card with no frills.
So no annual fees — tick.
Low interest rate — tick.
No cumbersome rewards program — tick.

I use my credit card to pay bills and other essentials without having to keep track of spending to gain points — just what I need in these leaner times. It makes for much easier decision-making as I only purchase what I need.

Consistency

Reviewed and recommended by Kate on 20 Jun 2016

I have been with Bankwest for many years. I have found this product to be reliable and consistent without any nasty surprises. The bank have been reasonable should I have accidentally missed a payment. They have been more then accommodating and have reversed late fees and interest associated with this.

I haven't saved a lot with this card

Reviewed and not recommended by Justin on 21 Oct 2016

I have used Bankwest for a number of years. When I first opened my account and got my card I was drawn by the high savings account interest rates as opposed to any other bank. But in time things change, and the rates are no longer the highest.

However, I do find their customer service excellent, and the convenience is great for making deposits outside business hours as I can visit the machine 24 hours a day and cash a cheque or deposit money.

Have I saved as much as I wanted with my MasterCard? No. I haven’t met my goal and will probably sacrifice convenience and customer service for a card that offers more rewards with a bank that offers higher interest.

Basic no frills credit card

Reviewed and recommended by Sara on 01 Jul 2016

The Bankwest Zero MasterCard has no fees. I really like the online banking setup. It’s very easy to navigate and to see my day-to-day use. It does not offer any rewards, which is a negative, but all in all this is a great no frills, cheap MasterCard.

Competitive interest rate makes up for no rewards

Reviewed and recommended by Trish on 17 Jul 2016

I have had the BankWest Zero MasterCard for eight years now. It is handy and convenient, and its interest charges switch to a competitive 11.99% p.a. after the first year of zero interest charges.

Whilst it does not have any reward partners (e.g. airlines) that is OK because of its low rates.

Show 3 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$20,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
3
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$1,000
Maximum credit limit
$25,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers2.99% p.a.9 months0%95% of credit limit17.99% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
95% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Bankwest Zero MasterCard at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers2.99% p.a.9 months0%95% of credit limit 17.99% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.83% 21.99% p.a.
Purchases 1.50% 17.99% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$10
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
2.95%
Late payment fee
$25
Over limit fee
$30
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$10

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $20,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension is acceptable.
Disability Pension, Overseas Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are not acceptable.
Income from pensions is not allowed
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: