Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Add to comparison
5 months
5.99% p.a.
then 21.24%
19.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
1st year
then $29
 
saved over 5 months
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Ongoing interest rates on purchases and cash advances are quite high.
You’ll find better balance transfer offers on other cards.
No perks or rewards on this card.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 85 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

The credit card for beginners

Reviewed and recommended by Skye on 17 Jun 2016

This is a great card for someone who has not had one before. It has a low interest rate, $0 annual fee for the first year and every year after if you spend $1000 or more. It is also good because you can control your security and spending by instantly locking international payments, blocking ATM cash advances, and limiting your spending.

Quite happy with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Alison on 08 Aug 2013

I have had this card for years as it is attached to my savings account at the Commonwealth. Which I love the convenience of being to access my savings account as well with this card. So I am generally quite pleased with this card although the interest rate is high.

This card is great and the fees are low

Reviewed and recommended by Josh on 04 Jul 2016

This card is fantastic! There’s no issue with it if you intend to pay it off on every billing cycle. The annual fees are low and it is convenient to pay it off online via NetBank.

I would recommend this as an entry level credit card without the mod cons. Commonwealth Bank is long-established and reliable when it comes to credit card services.

Great low-fee card

Reviewed and recommended by Alice on 24 Aug 2016

This card is great for people who pay their card off every month. There are no fees, so it doesn’t cost anything, and you can use it online for purchases here and overseas. You don’t earn rewards, but you also don’t have to pay anything.

I have this card because I don’t want to be charged to use my card, and I don’t need a low interest rate card because I always pay it off each month, so the interest rate doesn’t affect me.

Very happy

Reviewed and recommended by Karleen on 10 Jul 2016

I am very happy with this card. As I’m not working at the moment, they have been very flexible with monthly payments. I had my details stolen about 11 years ago and they ran up a lot of debt in my name, so I was very happy and surprised when they issued it to me.

The good and the bad

Reviewed and recommended by Margaret on 22 Sep 2016

My card has no fee if a certain amount is spent. Good
My card is very difficult when trying to increase the credit limit based on asset levels, not income. Bad
My card is bad, as loyalty over over 50 years with the bank is not rewarded.
My card is good if paid off every month.
My card is bad if not paid off every month.

Generally very pleased with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Kellie on 08 Jul 2016

The card does what I need it to, with minimal fees although no other real rewards. It can be used in multiple places, however the cash withdrawal fee is quite high. Currently it has worked quite well and I have had no issues with usage, such as inability to use at different terminals or via payWave.

I got a credit card for extra money

Reviewed and recommended by Rebecca Clarke on 11 Jul 2013

Now after having it i have trouble keeping up with payments but feel i will eventually get there. I will be able to start buying things for birthdays and Christmas to try and get in front so were not stressing at that time of year when you should be enjoying it.

Credit cards are losing their appeal for me

Reviewed and not recommended by Ken on 21 Oct 2013

Until I signed up with ING I used my credit card quite a lot for purchases. Then I got an Orange card from ING which gave me a 5% rebate off all purchases I made under $100, which has since dropped to 2%. I usually use it when I purchase anything under the $100 limit. Perhaps I am not a typical credit card user as I always pay off the full amount before the due date to avoid the exorbitant interest rates the banks charge. Also the pay wave feature is a handy tool.

Bargain central

Reviewed and recommended by Happy as! on 04 Sep 2014

Costs NOTHING! Spend only $1000 a year and pay it off before interest dates and that’s it. Free! I use this for big payments so I go over the $1000 and wipe out the annual fee charge. Then I pay it off fast so I don’t get charged interest. Hasn’t cost me anything in charges since I got it.

Show 75 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$15,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.65% 19.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$29 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater).
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $15,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: