Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card

What do you want this card for?
Save money
Earn points
My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Offer
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Add to comparison
5 months
5.99% p.a.
then 21.24%
with a 0% fee
19.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
1st year
then $29
 
saved over 5 months
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Ongoing interest rates on purchases and cash advances are quite high.
You’ll find better balance transfer offers on other cards.
No perks or rewards on this card.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 85 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

Great low-fee card

Reviewed and recommended by Alice on 24 Aug 2016

This card is great for people who pay their card off every month. There are no fees, so it doesn’t cost anything, and you can use it online for purchases here and overseas. You don’t earn rewards, but you also don’t have to pay anything.

I have this card because I don’t want to be charged to use my card, and I don’t need a low interest rate card because I always pay it off each month, so the interest rate doesn’t affect me.

Low fees are a life saver

Reviewed and recommended by Mj on 13 Aug 2016

The first credit card I ever got was this Commonwealth Bank low fee MasterCard. Through university and working part time, this card helped me out on numerous occasions. I only had a limit of $700 to start with, and it was plenty. If an unexpected bill turned up I could easily pay it, and have a good month before I needed to pay it back. My limit is now $1500 and it is great. Never need to worry.

Credit cards are losing their appeal for me

Reviewed and not recommended by Ken on 21 Oct 2013

Until I signed up with ING I used my credit card quite a lot for purchases. Then I got an Orange card from ING which gave me a 5% rebate off all purchases I made under $100, which has since dropped to 2%. I usually use it when I purchase anything under the $100 limit. Perhaps I am not a typical credit card user as I always pay off the full amount before the due date to avoid the exorbitant interest rates the banks charge. Also the pay wave feature is a handy tool.

Simple no fee card

Reviewed and recommended by David on 05 Apr 2014

Simple Card, no fees, no rewards, and low interest rate. Pay off full balance every month and no charges at all. Make sure you check every month that fees not charged, especially first months and you may need to arrange for fee reversal/credit. Had no trouble using anywhere in real life or on the web.

Low cost or no cost if you put $1k through a year

Reviewed and recommended by Scott on 25 Jun 2016

This is very handy as a back up card. You only need to put $1k of purchases through it in a year and they waive the annual fee automatically. I use it for bigger purchases that my regular cards are limited on. It’s basically free if you pay it off before interest is charged—great!

An interesting card

Reviewed and recommended by Anon on 31 Mar 2014

The Commonwealth Low Interest Credit Card is very useful as it is useable anywhere in the world. It is very handy for online purchases and can be used in conjunction with PayPal. The annual fee is reasonable. It also has the PayPass touch and go system for purchases under $100. But with all these good things, is there a drawback? I should say so! Incredibly exorbitant Interest Rates!

I got a credit card for extra money

Reviewed and recommended by Rebecca Clarke on 11 Jul 2013

Now after having it i have trouble keeping up with payments but feel i will eventually get there. I will be able to start buying things for birthdays and Christmas to try and get in front so were not stressing at that time of year when you should be enjoying it.

Satisfied with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Denise on 28 Sep 2013

I find my credit card to be convenient, reliable and safe to use. I don’t have a rewards system attached to this, as I’m not interested. I like that it’s attached to my internet banking and payments are easy to make online or in a branch. Overall, I am happy and satisfied with this credit card.

Problems reducing my limit

Reviewed and not recommended by Rachel on 07 Jul 2016

It was very difficult to reduce the credit limit. I was unable to do it on NetBank and had to go into a branch. It took weeks for the limit to reduce. I found I was hassled a lot about increasing my limit. The fees were okay, the interest not excessive. Just another credit card.

I have had this card for years

Reviewed and recommended by Margaret Roberts on 14 Oct 2013

I cannot remember how I first got this card but it has been such a comfort over the years to know it is there for whenever I need it & also I can access cash funds if needed. It is perfect for me & always there when I need it

Show 75 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
Mastercard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$15,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.65% 19.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$29 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater).
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $15,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards: