Win 1 Million Velocity Frequent Flyer Points

100% unbiased and honest reviews made for you by a certified and independent accountant

we compare every major bank and a lot of the smaller ones too

Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card

My rate: 
17%
 
My annual fee: 
$90
 
Transfer: 
$5,000
 
From: 
All banks
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
  • only
offer
card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
your savings
No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using MasterCard® PayPass.
Add to comparison
5 months
5.99% p.a.
then 21.24%
19.74% p.a.
ongoing
$0
1st year
then $29
 
saved over 5 months

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using MasterCard® PayPass.
Ongoing interest rates on purchases and cash advances are quite high.
You’ll find better balance transfer offers on other cards.
No perks or rewards on this card.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 84 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card.

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

Low fees, regular updates, great service

Reviewed and recommended by Tamika on 02 Dec 2016

This is a great credit card for students. It has low fees, I get sent regular updates, and I have the mobile app on my phone. I can use the deposit ATMs at any time, so it’s very convenient.

If I have any troubles I call and the customer service team help out. I would recommend it to all who dislike high fees and interest.

Low cost and easy to use

Reviewed and recommended by Melissa on 29 Nov 2016

It’s a very low cost card. I’ve owned this card since before I’ve been with Commonwealth Bank, ever since I started working. This card allows me to use my money easily, via online shopping or in a store. I have not had a single problem with it. I’d recommend it to anyone.

Low fees, great service, simple to use

Reviewed and recommended by Jacqueline on 24 Nov 2016

I have been happy with this card and bank from day one. It combines low fees and simplicity. Customer service is also always on point.

I have full trust in the security on this card also and I feel confident that if I were to have any troubles the friendly customer service staff would fix the issue promptly.

Low-fee, low-limit emergency card

Reviewed and recommended by Eric on 22 Nov 2016

As it’s a low fee card, you don’t need to worry about getting smacked with a hefty sum once a year for something you use merely as a back-up. I have the card because the minimum credit limit is quite low, so you can keep it tucked away for emergencies without having to worry about fees.

I would recommend anyone who doesn’t yet have a credit card to look into something like this, so you’re prepared for the unexpected. If you have no self-control with spending, the lower limit keeps you out of too much trouble as well.

Good first time credit card for younger people

Reviewed and recommended by Georgia on 17 Nov 2016

This is a great option for younger people who may not be able to afford the high fees of some banks. It is great for students or younger people as it saves you money annually and the interest rates are not too high. You can get up to 55 days interest free, which is perfect for smaller purchases and it is linked up to NetBank to make it easy to use.

Great for a low income earner

Reviewed and recommended by Danielle on 06 Nov 2016

This card is great for emergencies and also for online shopping — a card for things like car rego or insurance as well as smaller online buys.

I am able to pay off this card in small bits or sometimes bigger bits, so it’s great for a low income earner. It lets me be in control of my spending habits. However, I don’t like the interest it accrues.

Superb for travelling without added worries

Reviewed and recommended by Max on 04 Nov 2016

I’m happy with my low fee credit card, as with all purchases made I get a 55 day interest-free period. Also, if I spend a certain amount each year, my annual credit card fee is waived.

Transactions with this card are displayed instantly in real-time too.

Customer support with this card is great. I recently travelled abroad and lost my card. I took advantage of the 24/7 emergency assistance and was looked after then and there.

Decent low cost card but high purchase rate

Reviewed and recommended by Brett on 01 Nov 2016

The annual fee is waived in the first year (usually $29) and each year you spend at least $1000 on the card in the previous year. It has all the features that you want in a credit card, like up to 55 interest-free days, fraud protection and worldwide access via the MasterCard network.

Low fees on top of great service and security

Reviewed and recommended by Milica on 26 Oct 2016

Commonwealth Bank really looks after me. I always receive prompt and efficient customer service when needed. My security is always 100% protected. I can happily and peacefully enjoy my shopping and pay my bills without any hesitations. I get my statements in a timely manner. The low fees are a winner!

I find this card very useful and very easy

Reviewed and recommended by bronwyn on 25 Oct 2016

The Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Card is fantastic. It is very simple to use, especially if you have a disability. The card is very safe and very easy to lock and restore.

Fees are easy to maintain, and it’s simple to replace or add someone.

Show 74 more reviews

Basic details

About this card

Card setup
Single
Card tier
Standard
Card type
MasterCard
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
No
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$15,000
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
None
Temporary residents
Yes

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$500
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
No
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
No
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers
No

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.65% 19.74% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$29 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$20
Duplicate statement fee
$7
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$20
Over limit fee
$0
Overseas ATM balance fee
$1.25
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater).
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$20
Transaction verification fee
$0

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $15,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Still need help? Ask us a question

Fire away
We welcome your questions but we cannot help if you need personal financial advice or if have lost your card or need to resolve a dispute with your bank.
you are here
commonwealth bank low fee credit card
as seen in
Win 1 Million Velocity Frequent Flyer Points
ENTER FOR YOUR CHANCE TO WIN