Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card

What do you want this card for?
Save money
Earn points
My rate: 
My annual fee: 
All banks
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
  • Only
Card features
balance transfer
purchase rate
annual fee
Money saved
No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Add to comparison
5 months
5.99% p.a.
then 21.24%
19.74% p.a.
1st year
then $29
saved over 5 months
Similar cards

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

No annual fee of $0 p.a. for the first year and for each subsequent year where you spend $1,000 or more in the previous year**.
Award winning Internet Banking and Mobile Apps to make it easier to manage your account.
Faster way to purchase under $100 at the shops using Mastercard® PayPass.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Ongoing interest rates on purchases and cash advances are quite high.
You’ll find better balance transfer offers on other cards.
No perks or rewards on this card.

User reviews

3.7 out of 5.0 based on 85 reviews92% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Customer service

Reviews from users

Fairly pleased

Reviewed and recommended by Elise on 03 Jul 2016

Compared to other cards, this one offered the lowest fees. Commonwealth Bank customer service has been very helpful with any matters to do with this card, which is what makes me more likely to recommend it over others. The low fees make it worthwhile if you make all your payments on time.

I have had this card for years

Reviewed and recommended by Margaret Roberts on 14 Oct 2013

I cannot remember how I first got this card but it has been such a comfort over the years to know it is there for whenever I need it & also I can access cash funds if needed. It is perfect for me & always there when I need it

I am closing down this card

Reviewed and not recommended by Liz Brown on 18 Aug 2013

After banking with the Commonwealth Bank for over thirty years, I am very disheartened by their service and recently I applied for an increase in my credit card by only $1,000 and they declined it – my limit is only $4,000 now. I am not happy so I have applied with another financial institution and am transferring the balance to them and closing my accounts with the Commonwealth.

Helps when I need to use it

Reviewed and recommended by Chrissie on 14 Jun 2016

This card has low fees and I’m always notified when a payment is due so I don’t receive extra fees. I can bump up the credit limit immediately when need to and can rely on it when savings are low. It’s convenient to use, especially with online purchases. All my accounts are attached to this card so I can transfer and pay over NetBank, which makes it convenient for me to manage things.

Simple card, no complaints

Reviewed and recommended by Kellie on 24 Jun 2016

I’ve had no problems with this card. I have this card as I am a student and was after something with a low rate that’s simple to use. I haven’t had any problems and security has been great (the bank was able to identify and block some fraudulent transactions before they went through).

This card is great for students, or anyone trying to save.

Satisfied with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Denise on 28 Sep 2013

I find my credit card to be convenient, reliable and safe to use. I don’t have a rewards system attached to this, as I’m not interested. I like that it’s attached to my internet banking and payments are easy to make online or in a branch. Overall, I am happy and satisfied with this credit card.

Credit cards are losing their appeal for me

Reviewed and not recommended by Ken on 21 Oct 2013

Until I signed up with ING I used my credit card quite a lot for purchases. Then I got an Orange card from ING which gave me a 5% rebate off all purchases I made under $100, which has since dropped to 2%. I usually use it when I purchase anything under the $100 limit. Perhaps I am not a typical credit card user as I always pay off the full amount before the due date to avoid the exorbitant interest rates the banks charge. Also the pay wave feature is a handy tool.

Low fees on top of great service and security

Reviewed and recommended by Milica on 26 Oct 2016

Commonwealth Bank really looks after me. I always receive prompt and efficient customer service when needed. My security is always 100% protected. I can happily and peacefully enjoy my shopping and pay my bills without any hesitations. I get my statements in a timely manner. The low fees are a winner!

I saved on interest

Reviewed and recommended by Suzanne on 16 Jun 2016

This is a great card when you’re working and keep up with payments. If you miss a payment they charge you interest and then if you pay on time it’s 55 days interest-free. That’s how it works they say, but I worked it out and it’s not all what they said.

Helps with my business

Reviewed and recommended by James on 11 Jul 2016

This credit card gives me the option to have a bit of money in advance for a low fee. This is handy, as currently I work for myself and have to spend for my business. Income can go up and down, so a low fee credit card suits my needs perfectly.

Show 75 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Card tier
Card type
Card use
Credit rating
Gambling transactions allowed
Joint application
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
Minimum income for pensioners
Same as standard
Rewards program
Temporary residents


Additional cardholders
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
Maximum credit limit


Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 55 days on purchases
Minimum repayment

Balance transfers

The offer

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit21.24% p.a.

Balance transfers to this card

Balance transfer earns rewards
Balance transfer fee payment due
First statement
Balance transfer from personal loan
Balance transfer processing time
10 - 14 days
Interest free days with unpaid balance
0 days
Maximum balance transfer
100% of credit limit
Available to existing customers

Banks you can't balance transfer from

You can't balance transfer to the Commonwealth Bank Low Fee Credit Card at the promotional balance transfer rate from:

  • Aussie
  • Bankwest
  • Commonwealth Bank

Rates & fees

Promotional interest rates

Interest ratePeriodFeeLimitRevert rate
Balance transfers5.99% p.a.5 months0%100% of credit limit 21.24% p.a.
PurchasesN/AN/AN/AN/A N/A

Ongoing interest rates

Cash advances 1.77% 21.24% p.a.
Purchases 1.65% 19.74% p.a.


Annual fee
$0 p.a.
Annual fee 2nd year
$29 p.a.
Cash advance fee
Dishonour fee
Duplicate statement fee
Foreign exchange fee
Late payment fee
Over limit fee
Overseas ATM balance fee
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$4 or 1.75% of the cash advance amount (whichever is greater).
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
Transaction verification fee

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $15,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are not allowed
Temporary residents are eligible
Age Pension, Disability Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance and Child Support Payments are acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

Featured in
Compare these cards:

Wait! FREE credit scores are coming soon.

Enter your email to get notified when released