Westpac Altitude Platinum Credit Card

My monthly spend: 
$5,000
 
Offer
Card features
Rewards program
Earn rate
Sign up bonus
Points earned
Westpac Altitude Platinum Credit Card
Apply by 31 jan 18
33 reviews
60,000 points when you spend $3,000 after a first eligible purchase in the first 90 days.
Earn 0.5 pt per $1 spent on the Visa card (Altitude Qantas).
Points never expire.
Add to comparison
Altitude Rewards
Altitude Rewards
0.5 pt
per $1 spent capped
60,000
points
after spend criteria

Pros & cons

What's good?

What's not so good?

Earn 60,000 points bonus Qantas Points when you spend $3,000 on eligible purchases on your new card within the first 90 days of Card Membership.
Choose to earn into two great rewards programs: Altitude Rewards or Altitude Qantas.
Earn up to 1 Altitude point per $1 spent.
Earn up to 0.5 Qantas points per $1 spent.
Redeem your Altitude points for popular rewards, including Westfield gift cards and bookings through Altitude Travel.
Altitude Points never expire.
Convert your Altitude Reward points into five frequent flyer programs including Asia Miles, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Malaysia Airlines, Singapore Airlines Krisflyer and Velocity Frequent Flyer.
Complimentary overseas travel insurance cover for trips up to 3 months.
Complimentary concierge service to be your own personal assistant, 24/7, worldwide.
The interest rates are as high as you would expect for a platinum card.
Altitude Points are capped at 7,500 per statement cycle.
Qantas Points are capped at 3,750 per statement cycle.
Blackout dates may apply when using points for travel on Altitude Travel.
  • Please note: All Westpac-issued American Express Cards will close in April 2018.

User reviews

3.8 out of 5.0 based on 33 reviews94% of reviewers would recommend this card

Rates and fees
Rewards
Customer service
Convenience
Trust

Reviews from users

No long-term customer benefits

Reviewed and recommended by Kathy on 21 Sep 2016

I believe the fees to be quite high, especially for loyal long-term customers with a great credit rating.

I think the Interest rate is too high, and obscene for any cash advances given current interest rates.

Loyal long-term customers should be considered for better interest rates on the odd occasion they may be charged for not paying on time.

Generally very pleased with this card

Reviewed and recommended by Yew Soong on 21 Jul 2015

Our household uses our credit card quite a lot, between $3200 to $4500 each month. With the card we are able to earn reward points very fast, especially whenever you use the AmEx card and get the double points.

The only downside is that not all merchants accept AmEx, and if some do, they charge a surcharge fee ranging from 2% to 4%. Thus it limits our usage and we have to use our MasterCard instead.

Great credit card if you use it right

Reviewed and recommended by Georgina on 27 Sep 2016

I channel all my spending through this card and pay it off in time to avoid interest.

The annual fee is more than covered by the rewards I receive.

The bank has resolved fraud issues very well in the past and I appreciate the extra benefits like travel insurance cover when I pay for travel with the card.

Easy

Reviewed and recommended by Amanda on 09 Oct 2014

This credit card makes everything easy, especially when travelling overseas. The conversion rate is also undated every day making it more accurate. The interest rates are pretty reasonable and you get flybys points. The best part about the points is that you can contribute them straight to Super, which is what we do.

Never had a problem

Reviewed and recommended by Marianne on 01 Jul 2016

I have had this card for years and never had a problem. I pay it off in full every month so that interest never accrues. It is accepted everywhere and often I can use the American Express version of the card, which then gives me more frequent flyer points.

The only point I don’t like is that Westpac puts a cap on how many points you can earn. We use this credit card for everything, so it could potentially earn a lot more points.

Nothing of much value in the rewards catalogue

Reviewed and recommended by Felix on 05 Dec 2016

I’ve used this card for years. The annual fee was waived for some reason (I probably complained about something and they waived it) so it’s great value for me with the extra points on the AmEx. Rewards are OK. I don’t claim anything too often though, as there isn’t anything that is really great value.

Rewards are excellent but I don't like the fee

Reviewed and recommended by Rachel on 29 Sep 2016

The rewards are great. Having the Visa and AmEx combo is another nice feature, but I don’t like the annual fee and slightly higher interest rates.

I signed up for this card when j had a home loan package so the annual fee was waived, but I no longer have a home loan so have to pay.

Had my card for 7 years

Reviewed and recommended by Barry on 07 Aug 2013

Very useful & flexible card, internationally trusted & accepted. I have had my Westpac MasterCard for 7 years & have not found any other card with features that would persuade me away from my current Westpac card. My one reservation is the annual fee charge which is on the high side. However, the free travel insurance bonus is very attractive given the amount of travelling that I do.

Pleased with convenience

Reviewed and recommended by Anon on 30 Sep 2013

The one overlimit fee I was charged was more than the amount I was over limit. My other accounts would have covered it so disappointed not contacted. Accepted worldwide which is wonderful for travelling. Have learnt to ensure a good balance on card before travelling though. Having just one card for debit and a credit is very useful.

Very versatile card

Reviewed and recommended by Anon on 14 Jul 2015

This is a very handy card for travel insurance. It has a better than average rewards program too. We use our credit cards for over eighty per cent of our purchases.

The telephone Westpac staff are very efficient and extremely helpful. Our cards were recently used by fraudsters, and the expediency with which our cards were replaced was exceptional. The incurred fraud charges were reimbursed within two business days.

Show 23 more reviews
Disclaimer: The opinions expressed about credit cards are the reviewer's alone, and do not reflect the views of Credit Card Compare or the credit card issuer. Reviews have not been approved or otherwise endorsed by Credit Card Compare.

The basics

About this card

Card setup
Dual Card
Card tier
Platinum
Card type
Visa
Card use
Personal
Credit rating
Any
Gambling transactions allowed
No
Joint application
Yes
Minimum age
18 years old
Minimum income
$30,000
Minimum income for pensioners
$Same as standard
Pensioners
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards
Temporary residents
N/A

Cardholders

Additional cardholders
1
Additional card fee
$0 p.a.

Credit limits

Minimum credit limit
$6,000
Maximum credit limit
$50,000

Repayments

Interest charged from
Purchase date
Interest free period
Up to 45 days on purchases
Minimum repayment
2%

Rates & fees

Ongoing interest rates

MonthlyAnnually
Cash advances 1.73% 20.74% p.a.
Purchases 1.69% 20.24% p.a.

Fees

Annual fee
$150 p.a.
Cash advance fee
2%
Dishonour fee
$9
Duplicate statement fee
$7.50
Foreign exchange fee
3%
Late payment fee
$15
Over limit fee
$15
Overseas ATM balance fee
$0
Overseas ATM withdrawal fee
$2.5
Overseas emergency card replacement fee
$0
Transaction verification fee
$0

Rewards & points

Cool stuff you can get with your points

Disclaimer: Does not include taxes, fees, or charges. Accurate as of 25th January 2016.

Rewards program basics

First purchase bonus
60,000 points
Reward points expiry
Never as long as you keep your account active
Rewards program
Altitude Rewards
Spend required for bonus points
$3,000 in 90 days

Earning points with this card

Frequent flyer points (AmEx)
N/A
Frequent flyer points (Visa)
0.5 pt per $1 spent
Overseas earn rate (AmEx)
Same as standard earn rate
Overseas earn rate (Visa)
Same as standard earn rate
Points cap per month (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per month (Visa)
7,500
Points cap per year (AmEx)
N/A
Points cap per year (Visa)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (AmEx)
N/A
Points earned on ATO payments (Visa)
N/A
Reward points (AmEx)
N/A
Reward points (Visa)
1 pt per $1 spent

Additional benefits

Airport lounge access
No
Complimentary flight voucher
No
Concierge service
Yes

Benefits

This card comes with benefits worth an estimated $1,059

ShoppingEstimated value
Extended warranty
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $250 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for all-encompassing extended warranty insurance covering more than one item, so no premium saving.
$50
Purchase protection
Valuation based on the assumption of making a $200 claim once every 5 years. There is no retail market for this type of insurance, so no premium saving.
$40
Travel
Overseas travel insurance
Valuation based on similar annual travel insurance policies available online for trips of up to 60 days.
$801
Transit accident insurance
Valuation based on similar global transit accident insurance policies available online.
$150
Waived Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee
Valuation based on $89.50 Qantas Frequent Flyer joining fee spread over 5 years. Note that this benefit does not apply if cardholder chooses Altitude Rewards rather than Qantas Frequent Flyer points.
$18
Total estimated value$1,059
Annual fee$150
Net customer value$909
Disclaimer: Details of who, what, and where coverage applies to, as well as its duration and any coverage limitations will be listed in the credit card insurance product disclosure statement (PDS) on the card issuer's website. The names/labels of complimentary insurance products may differ from one issuer to another. Terms and conditions apply. Always check the insurance PDS when considering a financial product. Accurate as of 31st October 2015.

Minimum criteria for this card

What you need before applying

Be over 18 years old
You are a resident or citizen of Australia
Earn a regular income of more than $30,000 per year
You have your personal details ready to complete the online application
Have not applied for multiple credit cards recently
Joint applications are allowed
Age Pension, Disability Pension, Veteran's Pension and Widower's Pension are acceptable.
Overseas Pension is not acceptable.
Austudy, Child Support Payments, Family Tax Benefits and Parenting Payments, Foster Care Allowance and Youth Allowance are acceptable.
Carer's Allowance is not acceptable.
Disclaimer: The minimum criteria pointers are intended only to be a guide. Your application may still be rejected by the bank even if you can answer 'Yes' to all the minimum criteria. The final decision regarding your application is up to the bank.

Similar cards

More cards like this one

This card is listed in these comparisons

as seen in
Compare these cards: